Love & Libraries: A One Week Affair: Day 1

in #love7 years ago

There are many reasons why I love libraries. First among them is that I found love in the 900 section! My husband, @joechiappetta, and I met about 20 years ago at our local library. Just so happens he documented the moment in his art.

20180202_104932.jpg

I was working there, shelving books, and he came in looking for a map of Canada, since he was selling his artwork at an upcoming Canadian comic book convention. I led him to the maps. He found what he was looking for, and now 20 years later, so much more as well!

Libraries have always been a place of wonderful experiences for me. I plan to share some of the reasons that make them so awesome for the next week.

What is your favorite library moment?

steemusafooter.png

Sort:  

what beautiful picture, did you draw her?an autumn pleased me your work, thank you to you large for a post

Thanks @baksi! My husband @joechiappetta drew it 😊

What a beautiful story, and a very good drawing immortalizing that moment that has lasted for 20 years in his memory. very emotive ;-) I only have one doubt ... that were the books that you loaded that day ???

Thanks @quamce! Great commenting! Now following you 😊 Haha, no we made the books up. But "Anne of Green Gables" is one of my faves.

Love this idea leading up to Valentine's Day, and that drawing...what a beautiful and sweet keepsake!

Thanks @hammockhouse! Funny thing, back in our "starving artist" days, I think he actually sold the original drawing to a collector. He has a scan of it obviously. But I always kind of regret that we no longer have it. Would be nice to frame all these years later. But, hey, we got to eat the week he sold it, so thats worth something, right?! 😉

I love his art of the moment you guys meet. How sweet!

There was an old library in the neighborhood I grew up in. I think that building is what made me fall in love with old architecture.

Thanks so much @debralee! I'm with you about the library/architecture thing. It's actually the topic of Day 2 of my library series:
https://steemit.com/love/@denisechips/love-and-libraries-a-one-week-affair-day-2
Great minds think alike! 😊😊😊

I love this! That's so neat you met in the library. When I was in college I only lived on campus my first year. One semester when I was a commuter I took a Criminology class that was only offered Monday evenings, so I always had time to kill before it started. I would usually go get dinner by myself then come back to find a quiet place in the library to pass the time. It was heavenly to spend that time alone with all of the books! I can still remember the smell and it is instantly calming.

O my gosh @plantsoplanks...couldnt agree more! I adore that book smell and feel at home whenever i get a whiff. Makes me wanna get my pillow & blanket and tell folks, "Ill be in the 900 section for the next 3 days if you need me."

I haven't yet found true love anywhere in the library, but it sounds like the non-fiction stacks are the most likely section for it to turn up if anecdotal evidence means anything at all!

I recommend the 900's...embark on new adventures & places. And sending best wishes your way that maybe one day true love will pay a visit to your library 😍 Thanks for the support @jacobtothe. Fired up to meet another library lover here on Steemit! Following you now. Have a good weekend 😊

Alas, our library is quite small. The 900 section encompasses less than one small aisle.

Well, you never know. The 900 section where we met was only one aisle as well. Only takes one right person in that small section at the right moment 😊

Thanks so much for reading Melinda :)

I also Love Libraries!
My Love is with all of the potential Learning!

As a child I was an avid reader, one of those things I hope to 'revert back to' as I grow older and have more time again... Dreaming!

Great story of meeting your Love.

Thanks for reading and the great commenting @borrowedearth :) You may be surprised at the amount you are able to read as you get older. Now that my kids are older I read much, much more than I did when they were tots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77