A Private Journal: Love Story Gone Wrong

in #love6 years ago (edited)

BNK66.jpg
(Art by Banksy)

Greetings fellow steemians, I recently learned about steemit. I still have a lot to learn and this is my first post on steemit ever. I hope the steemit community grows and I am grateful for being able to participate!

This post is meant to be a journal, mostly for myself, about a girl that I used to love.

It has already been 3 years since we first met. And although things have changed a lot over the years, I still remember the first time we met. On our first encounter, I recall feeling that if we were to meet again, I would definitely fall for her, and I would fall pretty hard.

Despite my previous "failures" in my attempts to maintain romantic relationships, I could not help but fall in love again. All the while being aware of the fact that this decision, might lead to yet another heartbreak. The prospect of an ideal romance could not be ignored.

Hope, as some individuals have claimed repeatedly, is the greatest strength as well as a weakness for humans.

It seems to me that although falling in love probably entails a different experience for different people, I am certain that the chemical reactions of falling in love leads to similar tendencies.

First of all I was blinded. Now that I look back, I realized that I only saw the good in her, and ignored some qualities about her which hinted that this relationship might not work out. This, to me is the most dangerous aspect of falling in love. The "blindness".

Also, another dangerous aspect is the empathy that comes along with loving. That I become too understanding of one's flaws, that if she turned out to be an evil person, I would probably remain a victim of abuse while I am in love with that person.

Of course there are wonderful things about falling in love. I don't know if you would agree with what I have to say but I became brave. That courageous stance where one feels invincible, atually believing that one could in fact accomplish anything with the power of love.

Genuine, unconditional caring for anothet human being.

The fact remains, it doesn't always work out. Sometimes it leaves you traumatized, or changes you to such an extent that you adopt a different lifestyle after a heartbreak.

I sometimes think to myself, well, it did not work out but I learned a lot of useful lessons. Then I have moments where I am thinking that it was a complete waste of time and emotional resources, which could have been put use to something more useful.

It is still an experience though, and one's attitude will largely determine the interpretation of the experience.

Here I am, heart broken, yet somewhat relieved that my feelings towards her are gradually fading, hoping for a better romance next time.

I feel that the most important thing I learned through us is that, "While love is beautiful, falling in love with the right person, and for the right reason is the most important part."

So let me ask you. Are you loving well?

Thank you for reading my story.

Sort:  

Congratulations @darkwisdom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @darkwisdom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87