Love City

in #love6 years ago

image

This city is like a magnet
An uncontrollable force
weighing with relentless pull
I want to live in her
And be her
I am her
She is me
What I've seen and become
has a taken on a life of it's own
To be alone in her loins
Rolling in her mud and rubble

Bright lights from across the water make me smile
Bridges that lead you in circles
Walkways to nowhere
Paint splattered across her face telling stories of misplaced youth
Dens selling relief from a day spent doing what it takes to keep her alive
An artist singing a love song in her ear

Her love, though sometimes harsh
Ever present
Her cool winter and unforgiving summer sun we curse
Her endless suitors that never seem to fit

Sometimes I forget why I love her
And with a kiss
I remember
I remember you
And how WE were born here
How US came to be and how she nurtured our growth

Do you remember?
Do you remember how her breath smells
When she breathed life into who we are?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57346.65
ETH 3107.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40