You could be anyone in the world

in #love5 years ago

Now who was I, to think you'd want to waste your time with me?
Who was I to think that we could ever be?
I don't deserve the chance this might even come to pass, so I'll just forget and slowly fade into the past. So you just don't have to worry about me.

It's not the first time
It's not the last time
That dosen't mean I'm not sick of it.
It just means that I understand how it goes.

I've spent too much time here to not understand.
That's my superpower you see. Understanding.
Putting aside how I feel to take in the way others feel, even if knowing the way they feel hurts me.

Maybe that person with their brights on can't see, maybe the car taking a long time in front of me at the drive through is really anxious about talking to people they don't know and this is a big step for them, maybe the girl who sat and talked with me for hours and hours was just lonely and it didn't matter if it was me there or someone else she just needed someone to talk to. Am I wrong for feeling used?
No, I know I'm not, but it would be wrong to take it out on her. I'm not entitled to her time.
That doesn't stop me from feeling like I was being used, or that literally anyone could have taken my place and it would mean the same to her.
I just feel like a placeholder, someone to hold the door for someone else, to keep the fire warm and to be let go of at the first convenience. And that's okay, at least I have a purpose.

Screenshot_20190909-033553_YouTube.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38