A festival of Bond called Brother and Sister – Raksha Bandhan

in #love7 years ago

At times I feel so great being an Indian! every time Raksha Bandhan is around , or Rakhi as we call it, it makes my heart swell not only with emotions but with pride that, India might be the only country where we celebrate the bond of brother and Sister in form of a festival. Raksha Bandhan a festival where sisters tie the pious thread Rakhi, filled with love, on to the wrist of their brothers, in return of a promise that they will always save her from evil and take care of her.


A girl selecting Rakhi for her brother from a Rakhi Shop


A sister tying a Rakhi on the wrist of her brother

I still remember in school, when there used to be big Rakhis made from fancy paper and sponge with ‘Mere Bahiya’ plastic caption on it, on the wrists of boys. The boys in the class, rejoining after the Rakhi Holiday. used to show off how many Rakhis they had, the more the merrier!

the more the merrier

Since Childhood, I have been celebrating it, though I don’t have a sister of my own. But again As I say in my country India, your cousin is not a mere cousin, she is your sister ( real type). So Rakhi is not merely limited to real brother and sisters but to cousins as well

I get my Rakhis from my three cousins, two from my dad's sisters so five in total.

Though you get so many type of Rakhis these days in the market, but my sisters send handmade rakhis. Quite thoughtful of them indeed !


Hand Made Rakhis

I still remember my close friend told me, when she must be in 1st or 2nd standard, her teacher ( I still remember her name, Manisha Ma’am) asked her, whom would you tie Rakhi ? She had no answer, as she didn’t know. Though she didn’t feel bad either for the question, as she was too little to understand bonds or relations!
she went back home and asked her Father, ” Papa whom should I tie a Rakhi ?”
He said, ‘to him’ fingering towards a wooden statue of Lord Krishna kept in our Mandir ( worship Place at home).


Tying of Rakhi to Lord Krishna

Rakhi, is incomplete without listening to Hindi Film songs.So I make it a point to put the All India Radio ( the official Radio Channel of India) on such festivals, because these are the only channels which play festive songs on the festivals/national holidays.
“Phoolon ka Taaron Ka Sabka Kahna Hai Ek Hazaaron Main meri Bahna Hai ! “( Flowers and Stars say, that my sister is one in a million)

“Bahna Ney Bhai ki Kalayi pe pyar bandha Hai, Pyar ke do taar se sansaar bandha hai!” ( Sister has tied love around her brother’s wrist, and with two threads of love she has tied the world !)

” Mere Chanda Mere Bhaiya, Mere Anmol Ratan, Tere Badle Main Zamaney ki Koi cheez nahin!” ( Apple of My Eye, My Brother, My Precious Jewel, I will never leave you for anything in the world!)

As I say, “Isse Tyohaar ka Mahaul Banta Hai!“( These songs create an atmosphere of festivities!)

In this world of people watching GAME OF THRONES where relation between brothers and sisters are made a joke, I hope after reading this posts people will realise the importance of such festivals and try to spread it across the world.

The festival was celebrated today all across India and it was after three years when I was at home celebrating it and with no doubt, I enjoyed it to the maximum.

Do you too have some brother-sister incident or festivities in your country which you would love to share..please post it in comments..I would love to know..:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37