Ball and Chain

in #love6 years ago

Hello Friends,

I want to talk about something I’ve been mindful of lately. I’ve come to notice the majority of people center their lives around their phones. I sometimes see it as a rectangular hunk of metal that weighs me down, much like a ball and chain. Then I wonder, am I okay with my life being so dependent on this inanimate object? My phone isn’t a part of my body, but I often value it just as much as my right hand. I’m sure we can all remember a moment in time where we briefly misplace our phone and become crippled with fear. As we go about our day, we check this device over and over for a text, call, or app notification. We obsess over what the outside world is up to and neglect what is going on just a few feet or inches away. Guys, I want us to just put down our phones for a few minutes and look around. Marvel at the nature around you, breathe in the wind as it moves over you, watch the rhythm of the world moving around you. Most importantly of all, pay attention to your loved ones. They will provide so much more satisfaction than that ball and chain that we carry around in our pockets. I’m guilty of spending too much time on my phone. The reason I’m writing this is to help spread awareness. Every day it is a struggle for me to prioritize other things more than time on my phone. I want my loved ones to feel more loved than my phone. Hopefully you all feel the same way. I want to cherish those close to me as much as possible. I know there will come a day where I will wish for those little moments back. Let’s start loving more and staring at that screen less everyone. Have a nice day.

Sort:  

Congratulations @btn-07! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @btn-07! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58270.16
ETH 2600.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39