Golf Ball Sized Hail - Louisville, Colorado - June 18th, 2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in #louisville6 years ago (edited)


The sky turned green as the hail started to fall on Louisville last night. Lightning boomed and the rain fell hard just before the hail started falling. I've never seen hail this big... EVER!

Unfortunately, we don't have a garage, so all I could do was film as my poor vehicles became pitted by the hail.

At some point, I ran out briefly to make a poor attempt at throwing a blanket over the windshield of the Tacoma, but I got pelted quite hard in the head by some large hail and did not make any further attempts. I have not yet inspected my roof, but I'd assume it took a beating as well.

850_0541.JPG

850_0549.JPG

850_0550.JPG

850_0551.JPG
My poor truck's hood and roof now looks like the surface of the moon.

850_0552.JPG
I will never in my life understand how hail can form that is both this large, and this dense.

Most of the hail was about the size of a quarter, but some was much larger, golf ball sized or bigger.

Rainbow-1.jpgThis rainbow showed up as the storm departed. I hope the pot of gold is at the insurance office, as I'm sure they will need it to cover the damages across our entire town.

Video Camera: Google Pixel
SLR: Nikon D850 w/ 50mm f1.8


Rebele93-footer-clear.png

If you liked this post, please consider upvoting, following and resteeming!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh its unbelievable

I jut gave up on my car and hail damage here in Colorado. Happens so much here!

That is a really big size "Ouch". Hope nobody is hurt

I got to know the snow on a trip to Germany, thank God that this was not like golf balls, I can not imagine my head covered by bumps hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66