#1 Steem Lottery - A Weekly Jackpot

in #lottery7 years ago (edited)

Winner is @jnelson964 Congratulations  Details updated below.

Go to #2 Steemit Lottery

Welcome to the #1 Steem Lottery: A weekly Jackpot

Are you one of those peoples who comes up with a bright idea, and then finds out it already exist? That's what happens to me all the time. It just happened to me 5 minutes ago while I was driving my car home. I found out my exact idea was already posted on steemit 11 months ago. Quit or do it my way? Lets do it our way! Consider this an experiment:

Steem Lottery

This very post functions as a lottery. By up-voting and commenting you contribute and create more value to the post. Why would you do that? In 7 days 50% of the payout will be going to one of the up voters. How? I let the community decide: post your smart and fair idea for picking one of the upvoters. The comment with most up votes receives 25% of the pot.

By sharing this post you will create much more value so please don't forget

*If this will be a success I will make it a weekly Lottery. I will evaluate and see how more up voters can win prices next time. How can you be sure I will actually share the profits? I'm planning on making it a weekly post. Without keeping my word this will never succeed. 

Update and Payout:

So this experiment is one week old and ready to be evaluated:


Total Upvotes: 55

Total payout: $1.45

50% to winner $0.73

25% to most upvoted idea $0.36

25% to author: $0.36

To start with the 25% bounty for coming up with the best idea: It will go to @chaostheory. You came up with the steemd.com option wich was unknown to me and works out fine. You got the most votes and thus wins this contest according to its rules. I agree that this should not be a spamming or in anyways negative post. For the #2 Lottery I will set a #1 price of 50% and a  #2 price of 25%


The winner of the 50% pot price of this #1 Steemit Lottery is: @Jnelson963 Hi was picked out of the list by using Google's random number picker. See Video for proof. Thanks all for participating.

Want another chance? Try out #2 Steemit Lottery
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Sort:  

first of all, the 25% for comment should go to whatever you judge to be the best idea, not number of votes since it can be exploited by the kind of people messaging me on steemit.chat and discord to help with random contests that do the same, it ends up being a challenge of who can spam the most people.

second, the lottery should go to someone random, steemd.com allows you to see the list of ALL voters, where steemit allows only a certain number then says ... and X more. So using that list, you should generate some number then count from top left across until you find their name, simple as that :)

You came up with the steemd.com option wich was unknown to me and works out fine. You got the most votes and thus wins this contest according to its rules. I agree that this should not be a spamming or in anyways negative post. For the #2 Lottery I will set a #1 price of 50% and a #2 price of 25%

An amount of $0.36 SBD has been sent :)

I don't understand how it is possible, but I vote for that :)

This seems like a fun idea. Upvoted!

upvoted and followed

Everyone loves free stuff, but I'm wondering if this undermines the intent of giving awards to things that earn it the "old fashioned" way.

There is a fixed reward pool, if I'm not mistaken. I'm a bit new, so things are still not totally concrete for me just yet.

If your lottery becomes well-known and popular, and apparently there is another one that is -- doesn't it just drain the pool and under-served posts just languish because people wanted an easy payday?

If so, it makes me a bit sad that greed overrides quality content.

hmm I'm not sure. I personally don't feel that my idea came out of greed, more out of fun and curiosity to test the platforms possibilities. In the end its the community that votes and decide. So far not so much response so people might agree with you. I personally agree on the point that this should not undermine writers who put a lot of effort in great articles. Thanks for response @talltim :)

#1) A lottery is a random drawing in which you must pay a fee to enter by buying tickets. Lotteries are usually state regulated so I wouldn't be dabbling into such a thing as there are fines for operating without licenses.

#2) You've essentially created a popularity contest. Whomever gets the most votes will get 25%.

Sounds like you have good intentions but it's kinda all over the place.

I agree with chaos theory.

liked and followed :)

Bes sure to up vote if you want to win 50% :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70