Long Exposure: Bear's Den Falls, Massachusetts

Bear's Den Falls, Massachusetts

Fallen leaves and a spiraling current at the base of a waterfall make an autumnal leafy vortex if you put on a neutral density filter and let the camera expose for a few seconds or minutes! This New England waterfall had one of the best long exposure vortices I've ever photographed.

Swirling Waterfall

Entered into the #longexposurephotography contest - thank you, @juliank!

Sort:  

Nice Work!

Your post has been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos.

Your photography will be featured in today's lucky 10 showcase, and entered in the January 2018 Lucky Photo Lottery for a chance of winning free SBD.

Well that's a nice surprise, thank you!

your longexposure pictures are really amazing! I am a nature and travel photographer too and I know, what it needs to realize such pictures!
Nice to meet you here on steemit....

Thanks for commenting, and welcome to Steemit! :D

Congratulations @derekkind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

A picture really very amazing. This is the first time I see a vortex. And having photographed it in long exposure shows a good technical mastery. What is more, the autumnal tone of the context gives a beautiful force to this image. Hypnotizing!

Great comment, thank you for stopping by! :)

That's incredible! I need to get me an ND filter.

ICE 10-stop filters on Amazon are cheap and surprisingly really good - I use my ICE filter instead of a much more expensive B+W because there's less color casting in the former, and it's slimmer.

Good to know, thanks! I'll need one for my trip to New Zealand and Australia coming up. BTW what camera and lenses do you use?

Nikon D750 (now I have the D850, but most of the shots you'll from 2015 and on are from the D750), and the main lenses are the Nikon 24-120, Tokina 17-35, Rokinon 14 2.8, and the Nikon 70-300. I pull out 50mm and 85mm primes now and then.

Nice! I would imagine the 24-120 to be very practical for landscape photography. I love the 50mm prime! How long have you been shooting? Your work is very professional.

I've been taking it seriously for about 6 years now, thank you!

Yes, the 24-120 is my go-to lens for anything in that focal range. Sharp and reliable. The Tokina is a stop-gap, it's not nearly as good as alternative wide-angles, but at least I can afford it!

Question if you can remember. For a picture like this one, what would be the approximate exposure time? Also I'm assuming (I'm a photography novice) heavy ND filters and maybe polarizer?

59 seconds. Approximately. :)

And you're absolutely correct, I would have been using a 10-stop ND filter as well as a polarizer. I can tell I was using a polarizer just by looking at how dark the rocks are - normally there would be more shine, more reflection off anything wet.

Awesome. Thanks for the teaching :)

Anytime. :)

Wow.. That is magical! Like a leafy black hole

Yes! Thanks! :)

Awesome shot!!! Still learning my camera and hope to capture images like this one day.

Thank you!! Well, hopefully you'll have plenty of opportunity to practice on your travels. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67124.23
ETH 3753.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56