Sunset at the lake

in #longexposurephotography5 years ago (edited)

If the tiny county of Rutland in the east of England had a symbol it would probably be Normanton Church. During the construction of Rutland Water the church was scheduled to be demolished as a large part of it would end up underwater. After a local protest the lower half of the church was filled with rubble to create an artificial island upon which the top half and spire now sit.

DSC_4992-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

When the reservoir is full Normanton Church appears to float serenely upon a mirror that reflects the colour of the sky.

DSC_5030-HDR-Edit.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

Despite its abandoned appearance, the church is still functional and is regularly used for weddings.


Equipment Used:

  • Nikon D7000
  • Sigma 17-50 f/2.8
  • Cokin Nuances 10-stop ND filter
  • Tripod & remote release
  • Adobe Lightroom & Google Nik Collection

More UK landscape photography on my blog

Sort:  

Wonderful colors, @davewuk. These beautiful photos radiate peace and quiet. Interesting story of why this church is still there and not has been demolished.

Thank you @johannpiber, glad you liked it.

You're welcome, @davewuk 😊
I like your photos, but you are uploading too seldom ;) ... but what you upload is great :)

Thank you - I've enjoyed many of your posts also! I wish I could get out more and take more photos but real life keeps getting in the way. I am planning a trip soon to shoot the Humber Bridge at night - I should probably get a move on with that idea :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

I thank you too :)

Real life - that's a nice paraphrase for the time, that's in my way and keeps me from more photographing too ;)
I use every free minute that I can get, to go photographing. Luckily, also my work gives me much freedom, and my family is happy, when they don't see me ;)

Congratulations @davewuk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29