My First Star Shot - - - Long Exposure Photography Contest By @julianksteemCreated with Sketch.

The Stars Have It


My first night time star picture. As you can easily surmise, I am new at this, but have always wanted to have a camera that I could take night time star pictures with. Now I need to freeze my tootsies off just to get a little bit of practice in. It was cold when I took that picture. One other, (that would be 2 out of 8) semi came out. This was the best of the lot. I would have taken a few more, but like I said it was cold only 8 degrees, fahrenheit outside.


My First Star Shot


Equipment/Settings

Camera - - NIKON D7500
Lens - - - Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 35mm 1:1.8G
f stop - - - f/1.8
Exposure time - - - 25 sec.
ISO-1600
Focal length - - - 35 mm
35mm focal length 52
No flash, compulsory

Next try, maybe a nice "Moon Shot"
Any and all hints, tips, tricks, or techniques for really cold weather, night time picture taking would be appreciated. The Nikon sight was not a lot of help other than saying you needed a wide angle lens, some of the pictures had settings, and that is what I tried. One thing I know is a must is a tripod.
Daily Photo Contests by @juliank
longexposurephotography
Sort:  

Nice night shot. especially for first time pretty impressive

Thank you. I want to be able to get some nice aurora shots in Feb, so I have a few months to learn.

That will be an amazing experience for surev

That was a long exposure shot, did you use a tripod? The picture is professionally captured.The aperture was fully opened too at f-stop 1.8. I think you are no longer an amateur. You are now a pro.

I did do some reading to get a starting point about night time photography. Oh and yes a tripod is an essential. I am hoping to be doing good come February, that is the month we get some of our best Northern Lights in Alaska. Thank you for the comment @greenrun. Sorry I have not been by your place as much as I used to. So much stuff to read, and do.

I need a tripod. Never done any long exposure shot. I may have to read up more on it. Did you have a good source where you got your info? I'd be happy to see one.

I went to the Nikon Camera Site. They had a couple articles on Astrophotography. I also looked at a lot of pictures from spaceweather.com on their Aurora page to get an Idea of how long and what settings. Some of the people that take the pictures include that information. So from reading I knew I would need a tripod, (fortunately my wife had a small car top one), that I would also want a wide angle lens with a small aperture number, and most places said at least a 20 second shot. So I think I got the basics, now just need to refine them.

Your basic knowledge is awesome. This is an incredible night picture. Ok. I would check on some YouTube videos, but first I need a tripod.

To cool @bashadow!! Is that Orion?
Sometimes you can find info on what settings
people used for different night time snaps at
Space Weather photo galleries ❤

That did come out nicely. I never have tried that yet. I need to though.
Followed you :)

I am still very much learning. The aurora page on spaceweather.com was pretty helpful in finding some settings to use. hoping for a clear night and some auroras to take a picture of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73