The trouble with trying to capture a time-lapse of the milky way on a road at night --- Milky Way Animations

in #longexposurephotography6 years ago (edited)

Carlightazfix.jpg

When trying to capture a time-lapse of the milky way a dark sky and no lights around you is key to get the best capture. I thought I would try my luck and see if I could get away with a time-lapse of the milky way along the road during the late night/early morning hours. I setup magic lantern to 25 second exposures and 100 or so shots spaced out a few seconds after each exposure. Unfortunately a car would drive by every 30 or 45 minutes and ruin the shots. I eventually gave up on the idea and decided to call it and plan my next destination.

CARLIGHTAZFIXA.gif

Here you can see the impact cars driving on the road with their lights has on the time-lapse photo.

FIXEDEDITCARLIGHTAZFIX.gif

I removed all the frames with car lights on them to put together a better time-lapse, but you will notice the gaps slightly and some jerkiness.

Sort:  

Maaaan this timelapse is beautiful!!

i though that these images were photoshoped but you are proving it is reall!! and is BEAUTIFUL

They are not fake, but I do edit them in lightroom.
Here is the original the way it looks out of my camera with only a resize and watermark added

thanks for visiting @malos10

Still nice but would be hard to expect no cars, may need many attempts

I figured a car would come by every now and then even in this area, so I was not surprised. The nice thing is I have a bunch of still frames that turned out well and a short time-lapse with no cars.

It's awesome, wonderful view. I love night sky and cosmology science.
thanks for sharing beautiful posts and pics.

Thanks, really happy you like the photos and I appreciate your support.

But ... First photo looks awesome! And gif with removed car frames isn't that bad. But yes, you need to find a really remote place, to do it without cars and their lights.

Even in remote spots you still have helicopters and other things in the sky that will ruin your time-lapse. Its best to go camping and have a few days before and after a new moon to try it.

You remind me that this year I also decided to photograph the Milky Way. Your animations look really great. I like to visit you more often.

Avatar_BF-K.png Many thanks and greetings from @faltermann 🐛

I look forward to seeing your Milky Way photos in the future

Well I have to be honest and say I like the one with the car lights. I think it is a really cool effect!

Thanks, the cars driving away from the camera allowed you to still see the milky way and the road lit up. The ones driving towards the camera(I didn't include those) turned it into a big ball of white light.

Wow still looks amazing even with the car interference, pity about the cars as it would have been a magical timelapes still looks really awesome :)

Not a total loss because I did get quite a few good stills and got to relax under the quiet night sky.

That's good yeah the night sky is so pretty :)

Amazing photography. Love long exposure @azfix. Thanks for sharing. I resteemed :D

Thanks for the support and resteem

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-22T01:35:00
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 293.94/400.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very good photography dear friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94