My London Travel Blog on 2017.. Part 1

in #london6 years ago (edited)

These few days London and Paris are snowing, and one year before I was in London on 18 March however the weather was gloomy but no snowing. How should I express this feeling? I born and stay in Malaysia which definitely do not have a chance to see snow in my country hood. Gosh! What a miss, I can see snow if I in London today. To calm down my emotional feeling, I decide to write this London Travel Blog on 2017. I try my best to write it more details.

B068660.jpg
My number one attractions in London

First of all, why I have a chance to go London on last year? This is due to I having a sales meeting at Budapest on 20-22 March. There is no direct flight to Budapest from Malaysia and fair price from Emirates and Qatar Airline was surprisingly expensive. The only method is a flight to one of the cities in Europe and takes the budget airline to Budapest. Oman Airline offered reasonable airfare to London and the Wizz Airline to Budapest also within the budget, therefore I choose London to be my first destination in Europe before flying out to Budapest.

Even it is just an extremely short trip, but I feel excited to plan my itinerary for the fourth visit to London. The sights include a short stay at British Museum, Camden Town, Primrose Hill and Canary Wharf which I never visited before during my previous London trip also plus comeback visits to Westminster and Tower Bridge area.


Throw Back my London Visit on Millennium Bridge


Parliament Square and Big Ben on 2010

Time flew to my departure date. I took an Uber from my house to KL Sentral and then ride KLIA express to KLIA. This is a long queue for check-in at Oman Airline counter which took me more than one hour. My boarding time was 2040 and luckily there was no delay in the flight.

IMG20170317201537.jpg

After six hours I had landed at Muscat Airport at Oman. We need to take the shuttle bus to the terminal, the weather bit cold there compares with Kuala Lumpur. The best thing of Oman Airline is the connecting flight is just two hours. After getting tough time passing the security checking, I manage to board the flight on 0125.

IMG20170318001654.jpg
Shuttle Bus to Terminal

IMG20170318003019.jpg

IMG20170318005348.jpg

Another six hours s flight finally landed at Heathrow Airport Terminal Four around 1140am local time. Actually, this is my first time to land in this biggest airport, even this airport has 5 terminal but the sign was clearly stated to direct me to go out. There was quite straightforward to answer the immigration questions by proofing with supporting documents. Their luggage reclaims also efficiency as I get my luggage within 10 minutes. Upon reloading my existing Oyster Card, I took the Tube Piccadilly Line which is the cheapest way to downtown.

IMG20170318062125.jpg

IMG20170318064424.jpg
Luggage Reclaim Area

IMG20170318070132.jpg
Get some free maps

IMG20170318070421.jpg

IMG20170318070850.jpg
On my way to Tube Station

IMG20170318071854.jpg
Part of London Tube Map, what do you feel?


Machine to reload or purchase new Oyster Card

IMG20170318071954.jpg
Oop sorry, it's 6 pounds

If you need the fastest time to London Central then you need to take the expensive Heathrow Express which is 25 pounds but the whole journey just take 15 minutes to Paddington Station.

IMG20170318070334.jpg

Stay tune for my part two post..

Sort:  

You have some good photos here. I didn't know Oman Air was a good alternative to Qatar or Emirates. I might have to plan a stopover in Oman soon.

@daveonarrival thanks. Oman Airline can be your alternative choice for traveling to London or Paris.

I definetely understand your feelings. For me who I was born in Europe have a december in t-shirt and spent on the beach in Australia was something completely new. I suppose it was similar once you firstly arrived to London. I did not know about Oman airlines such alternative to Qatar Ethiad and Emirates Thanks for sharing!

@philfreetotravel, appreciate your understanding. I just my friend post again on Facebook, it look London still snowing, so good!

That is one of the best reason to travel :) :) we take it for granted and I should not repeat it you already know it :) :)

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

@kenclickrich Oh, it seems like Oman Air is a better choice. Thanks for letting us know about this bro :)

@kenclickrich. I have not travel to London or nearby countries in Europe but your article explained the pertinent info in London though . I believe subway transport is one of the most convenient and efficient transportation to move around London ya. Certainly I got the urge to make enough from strut to buy me a trip to London.
Thanks for sharing.

Their subway or tube bit complicated when you first time using. Once you conquer it then you can travel most of the places in London. I am going to write articles about riding tube in London. Stay tune

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63453.92
ETH 3283.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89