You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Logic Discussions: The Commandments of Logic

in #logic8 years ago

Good list of logic rules, but writing it as a series of commandments makes me think of Gödel's Incompleteness Theorem. Putting too much faith in any list of logical rules is actually illogical itself, because all formal sets of logic rules either prevent us from accessing all true statements (incomplete) or result in a contradiction (inconsistent). Either way, formal sets of logical rules are inherently limited and thou shalt not have complete faith in a formal logic system.

Sort:  

@sailboatdiaries good point on putting faith in anything. Logic, however, is not predicated on faith, but on critical thinking. As more fallacies are encountered I'll update this list. I found an amazing map a few years ago online of all the formal and informal fallacies known today, will see if I can dig it out for a future post.

You still need ethics as well, of course, but this wasn't a post about ethics. Logic gives the best method of action for an ethical goal. Solutions rarely succeed without a logical basis.

I will say this regarding my phrasing - I did it for a reason. I'm trying to convert people away from Statheism. I figured some Commandments would help the transition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46