You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: False Dichotomies rule the stage during this day... we should learn to recognize them... [logical fallacy]

in #logic8 years ago

Thank you for highlighting this important aspect of critical thinking. We need to use this thinking when we analyze what we are consuming, and when we publish our own thoughts for others to see. I like to always consider one more layer: not all writing is intended to be a logical argument.

So much of the way humans interact with one another is through storytelling and other methods of discourse, where we use devices like hyperbole and synecdoche to make a point. These devices purposefully leave out clarifying details and explicit elements, with the goal of making a broader point. So much depends on unwritten contexts, including culture of the audience and internal biases of both the originator and consumer of the content.

We need to hold our content creators responsible for making their point carefully (even if not always logically). We need to hold ourselves responsible as global consumers of content to know when to consider the logic of something, and when to consider the point being made.

It's tough to make one's purpose explicit in certain forums, and recognizing logical falacies like this is a great step forward in making our interactions and collaboration on a global scale more effective and meaningful. Thank you for being a part of that.

Sort:  

Thank you for a well thought out response. I believe making a point is always the goal. My main purpose when I write about logical fallacies is basically what you hinted at. It helps us recognize when it is being used on us, and it helps us avoid using them ourselves. I totally believe we can make points without relying on false dichotomies, generalizations, appeals to authority, etc. Yet, we kind of need to REALLY understand how to identify them before we can keep them out of our own work. Each step in understanding critical thinking let's us see through a lot of the fallacies being used around us to manipulate us.

So true.
I seem to have stated the obvious goal, and many of us (people in general) can make points without logical fallacies. We could also hopefully learn to recognize such things, and filter our interpretation of what we consume based on those that we notice. However, I would caution against assuming the next best step after recognizing one is always to keep from falling for it. This presents an opportunity to fill in context to get a better sense of the bigger picture.

As I read my previous comment, I realize that I think I was trying to point out this additional filter it could likewise be beneficial to try to employ, the use of which is possibly especially important upon encountering logical fallacies: let's call it "reading between the lines".

If we evaluate whether the fallacy was simply a mistake, we can possibly glean the intention of a statement more clearly. To look beyond the galaxy (strike that; "fallacy" autocorrect, but I'd like to keep it) for the intent of the statement rather than looking away, and missing the point.

I'm assuming that by "manipulate us", you do not intend to address only intentional misrepresentation; indeed, we'll come across unintentional false dichotomies, where deception is not the purpose. But I'm also thinking about that brand of communication where this kind of element of argument is used intentionally (though not necessarily something nefarious). I might say, "if you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem." But I might actually intend for my audience to understand something different based on the implicit context around my statement.

All that to say: I sense that your goal is mainly to keep from using logical fallacies, and to keep from allowing their use to convince you of something. Recognizing them helps accomplish that. Sometimes, however—as you've pointed out, there is more to it. There is occasion where false dichotomy makes sense as a literary device.

Afterall, you are either going to be duped by false dichotomy, or you'll reject it.

Most of the information out there is of this type. So yes, you really have no choice but to read between the lines and try to put the puzzles together. There is really NO source I won't read or listen to. I just use my own mind when doing so. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66