You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: False Dichotomies rule the stage during this day... we should learn to recognize them... [logical fallacy]

in #logic8 years ago

I agree, this is good practice not only in critical thinking but also in rhetoric. So I spent some time thinking of a few more good false dichotomies I could recognize. Notice how many of these are political points? I think this fallacy, among others are commonly used in politics...

Abortion
Gun Control
Welfare
Drunk driving

Then there are many more social aspects too...

Being religious or not
Being a Capitalist or not
Being a Libertarian or not
Being gay or straight
Being a slut or a prude

Sort:  

Here is a simple one "I am Right, you are wrong" :) I find it often the case where both sides can be right about some things and wrong about others. It is rarely so straightforward as "right and wrong" unless we are talking mathematical proofs or something like that... though I've had fun with that an absolutes before too.

Yep... we've been conditioned I think to do this naturally. It's pretty messed up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67