You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: False Dichotomies rule the stage during this day... we should learn to recognize them... [logical fallacy]

in #logic8 years ago

This was my first read on Steemit (and it was good), thank you! The crux of the issue here can be seen very clearly from the POV of mathematics. Classical logic is based upon rigid dichotomic thinking, but different logics abound and turn out to be quite useful. For example, certain axioms (which would be inconsistent under classical logic) coupled with intuitionistic logic (where the law of exluded middle, that any proposition must be true or false, is not assumed) lead to a continuum that is both closer to our intuitions of what a continuum should be (e.g. with "infinitesimals") and simpler to work with for certain important purposes, like providing a foundation for calculus (without limits and epsilons) and for differential geometry.
A beautiful introduction to this subject with minimum pre-requisites is Bell's "A Primer of Infinitesimal Analysis".

Sort:  

Hahaha. Thank you for the DEEP response. It is appreciated. Welcome to steemit. Grab your fishing pole!!! I say that because it is kind of like fishing. Write about things you like, put in some effort, but it is very difficult to predict what people will like. Some of my personal favorite posts were not well received, and then some I just wrote from the hip on a whim could prove to be popular. I stopped trying to predict, and I just write about whatever interests me on a given day.

Thanks again for your words... I've selected to follow you as I'd be interested in seeing what you do. :)

I've spoken about some of these things before. I think I reach different people each time iterate. I also learn from others during each iteration. The trick is how to simplify the idea such that people will listen. Each iteration hopefully is a seed of thought for different people. Each comment of theirs is hopefully a seed of new thought in my mind as well.

Also... yes you get three responses. This is perhaps one of the best compliments I believe I can receive. That my post was the first steemit post you have read, and you enjoyed it or found it worthy of your time. It doesn't get better than that. I hope you stick around. We have a lot of great people here and a lot of deep thinking.

Damn, this is surely the warmest welcome I've had in my web travels, thanks! And for the advice also, I'm still wrapping my head around this place... It seems to have real potential, I guess it's up to us to fulfill it :) Hopefully, with the aid of your encouragement, I'll be posting my first entry tonight.
(You're officially my first follower and first followed hehe)

Check out the introducemyself tag. You likely will want to do one of those. There are more current tutorials made by people, but I don't have any... I did make some a couple of months ago that might help: (other than the tag is now introducemyself)

https://steemit.com/steemithelp/@dwinblood/steemit-user-manual-for-new-people-hope-this-helps-sept-3rd-2016

https://steemit.com/steemithelp/@dwinblood/steemit-user-manual-journeyman-s-guide-some-additional-tips-to-posting-and-using-steemit-beyond-the-basics

There can be some hostility here but it is WAY LESS than any other site I am aware of. The monetary incentive seems to help quite a bit with keeping people civil. Those topics you've normally avoided talking about due to expecting to get ATTACKED you might actually be able to pull off here.

Oh and this place is still in BETA. Keep that in mind. So it is subject to change, possibly with your input.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35