Monday Munchies ~ Atlantic Salmon With Salad & Sweet Potato Chips

in #localfood7 years ago

In The Kitchen With Atlantic Salmon, Salad & Sweet Potato Chips

Welcome to another great cooking photo shoot with me, this time we are cooking Farmed Tasmanian Atlantic Salmon. Pan fried with Garlic infused olive oil, sprinkled with Dill, Oregano, Black Pepper and a little Rock Salt.

The Sweet Potato chips (fries) were peeled and blanched, basted with Garlic & Rosemary and a splash of olive oil. Then baked in a fairly hot oven.

A quick local food salad tossed together rounded off the meal just right. We all really love salmon and try to get some every couple of weeks, It's on the expensive side so it's a real treat when it comes on sale.

I hope you enjoy my photographs I'm trying very hard to get the best shots I can with the tools at hand and I feel like I'm learning and getting better every time.

* * *


salmon and sweet potato chips.jpg

Peel and slice.

sweet potato 2.jpg
Blanch and cool, it make them crispy outside and fluffy inside.

blanch.jpg
Crush that baste like a Boss.

garlic & rosemary.jpg
Infuse the oil

garlic oil.jpg
Sprinkle the magic, just a touch though.

seasoned atlantic salmon.jpg
Toss up a salad and lets EAT!

salad and salmon.jpg


This was a great fun and much loved meal all the salad and vegetables are local food, the fish is produced in Australia but it's a very long way from here. Calling 50% local give or take. It is my wish with these posts to inspire you to try something different or even to try something the same but use what ever local or regional food as you possibly can. I do it because it feels great, have a go, it feels great!

* * *

Thank You For Taking The Time To Enjoy My Post
Join Us On Slack


bar.jpg
Join The Steemit Homsteaders Slack Channel For Free, Just Click The Image And Say Hi!


Take a look at Yesterday's Awesome Local Food Haul post 🙆

Or Follow me to get all my content right on your feed!👌

And Remember To

“ UpVote It Like You Mean It!!!”

~Bryan
@overthewait
What are you waiting for?

Sort:  

This looks delicious! I sent you some little love bombs because sweet potato fries are my fave :)

Thank you, I do love them too and it's worth then extra effort to get them just right. Many thankful peaches for the bombs. 🍑 🍑 🍑

Fish cooked with garlic, salt and pepper is absolutely the simplest and tastiest method.

G'day @coffeehub thank you sincerely for taking the time to comment. Some fish just don't need anything else right!

Looks delicious, I love salmon glad to get some tips about what to eat beside it:-)

It's such a great tasting fish, we almost always have a salad of some kind with it. Thanks for taking time to comment today. Have a great day 🍑

And here I am, sitting behind my screen licking my lips hoping to have a taste of your dinner. Hungry and rubbing my belly the rest of this day! So thank you for the amazing mouth watering pictures!

Aww thank you, always find a smile in my day when there's a 🐍 snek comment on my post. 💓

Thank you for sharing this amazing looking meal. When I made sweet potato chips, I didn't blanch them first and they didn't turn out well. So now I will blanch first, then bake. Thanks for the tip.

Be sure to get all the water off, and have the oven a little hotter. Are the only extra tips I can think of with blanched ones. Thanks for your comment again. Go with Peace friend :-)

Thanks for the tips. Now maybe we'll enjoy the fries more:)

Really lovely. I hope they are tasty as they look nice. I just bookmarked it for the future, if I decide to try it 😊😉

Thank you Sir Akpan, hope all is well with you this day.

As tasty looking as ever. You should do a cookbook - "Cooking with Steem".

I must get a mortar and pestle - they do look cool in the kitchen 😎

That's a fun idea mate. Cooking with Steem. I never knew how handy a mortar n pestle could be until I got one, now I use it all the time. Thanks for dropping by!

Cooking with Steem looks like it might set sail. Check out my latest post if you have a minute...

Thanks for sharing recipe @overthewait. Photographs are well taken.

Thanks very much, glad you enjoyed them :-)

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @msp-lovebot courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66