Small communities in your city are a power house, in everything, nearly! Part 1.

in #localbiz6 years ago

I am starting a series about sustainable communities. I do not know the time-line, but I hope to be more and more active with the sustainability groups and communities and present ways and methods to participate.

Sustainability is a broad category with many perspectives, but the best way, I think, is to say that small communities know best as to what resouces are needed and which resources are wasted. This is away from remote central control and back to local groups.

The harder part is for an individual to see how to participate and how to change from global, remote, control back to local as much as possible. I believe the first thing that must be realized is how vastly rich and talented communities are- villages, towns, and cities. To put it very succinctly, in todays' world, we have information at our finger tips. The other key ingredients; or, actions, is: make a plan, a path forward, and begin acting on that plan. In business terms they say, "execution" is key. How fast are you capable of following through on your plan and do you give up or go forward after failure?

I will attempt to discuss in my next post, using my best judgement, experience, and new findings the basic ways we can create growing communities which are self reliant and able to exist more or less by themselves.

Here is one example of a project that focuses on communities world-wide started my Michael Tellinger at michaeltellinger.com. Mr. Tellinger also has a movement with a core concept called, " One small town project", and it can be found at ubuntuplanet.org. There is also a prolific writer Charles Hugh Smith at oftwominds.com. Visit these sites to learn more.

I hope you tune in next time as I talk about small communities and ways to participate :) The subject for next discussion is money. What is money these days, and what does it mean for small communities?

Oreovsky

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67