You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop Beating Yourself Up

in #loa6 years ago

I am in the process of positive change and I deserve the best.

I love this. I only discovered Abraham-Hicks & Louise Hay a couple years ago, but it has certainly made me more aware. I wish I'd learned all this earlier, but I was raised in a traditional Portuguese Catholic household and the guilt and shame are so ingrained in me, that even though I know better, I struggle with it daily. I have taught my kids to believe in their own power and direct connection to source (Esther Hicks' 'Sara' series is awesome for kids & adults!) But yet I find myself using guilt daily. I do apologize regularly and I explain that I am learning to parent differently than I was parented and sometimes unlearning the old is harder than learning the new. Anyway, thanks so much for this post. I struggle with forgiving myself because I want so much for my children to not bear the burden of generations of guilt/shame and I feel with all this knowledge I should be more self aware, but in stressful situations (Which is all the time with 4 homeschooling kiddos) old habits pop up. At least I know with awareness there will be some growth, just wish it was happening faster.

Peace, love & gratitude.

Sort:  

Hi @crowbarmama, I've heard such great things about you, happy we finally connected.
What's funny is I found Abraham almost a decade ago but it has taken me this long to really lean into the practices they offer.
I truly appreciate your authenticity in this comment. I'm sure you're an amazing mother and the fact that you have the awareness when you act in a way that is not in alignment with who you really are speaks volumes to how far you've come. Give yourself some credit, do you know how many parents are blindly repeating what their parents told them?
As for wishing you were better now, don't, there is no urgency and no rush. Thinking you are supposed to be anything other than who you are right now is just another way of "not being good enough." Trust me I know from my own daily struggles, you are evolving just the way you are supposed to in your own time. You wouldn't tell a flower to hurry up and bloom would you?
Much love and appreciation, I know you are in the process of positive change and deserve the best 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37