a year start reflection on the off-grid project that was weeks away from happening in 2010!

in #livingark7 years ago (edited)

This is a real location with a 3d mockup scaled to size to fit into the pitch we were offered, we had done environmental impact reporting on the location had a number of discussions with the management company of the land and location and we had hit a really nice dialog — the only problem was that two weeks before it was too be a funded project, with the project and cheque sign off sitting on the chief exec’s desk the project was pulled.

I was devastated, I don’t think I really got over that and I’m sure my trajectory of who I am now would have been the same. the company was laying off 1000 people so could not be seen to be putting money into ‘social projects’ so my year long project with the wooden eco house never materialised, it would have been the perfect video/youtube project at the time

remember this was over eight year ago now, how things change, crazy to see bella so young here, it really would have been crazy for us to have spent time there together when she was so young ;)

You probably don’t know this about me but i’ve been wanting to live a bit more of an off-grid lifestyle for about six years now — for one I think it’s the better way to live, independent from grids, reconnect ourselves back with nature and use the latest technologies to self sustain, not to gloat or to put a self analyse lenses on ourselves but to show their is another way.

when I look back I realise that all of these moments in my life have been learning points to make me stand back and reflect on what I’m trying to achieve, I had a digital studio setup and I was trying my hardest to make that work, I had been to a conference where I had seen the ark up close and personal and I had started to have comms with the company.

the ark was this awesome offgrid little hut/office home with walls that sloped up (kept the heat in better) but also it felt like you laying down on the side of a grass bank (especially with the fake grass they had in there) I fell in love with it and wanted to do a project straight with it.

I know that this life is still in my DNA and I’m very keen to find some land and people to work with this time next year, this year is very much about being more mobile, checking out locations and commute times and finding a spot that will work to put something very similar down as a basecamp in europe — I wonder if this company is still going?

have you had any passion projects that you never managed to pull off? did you revisit them? what's on your five year plan? anything bigger that you are working towards?

Sort:  

What a cool little project. And what a respectable dream of living small and keeping it manageable. I once wanted to "live off the grid" so to say. Then as circumstances would have it, I had no choice. I was homeless several times in my life. It was usually due to my resistance against the status quo. Bitcoin is Bilderberg, Ethereum is backed by Peter Thiel, Bilderberg, and so on and so on. Self righteous dreaming that somehow Occupy Chicago would sustain me til I discovered they too were propped up by Rothschild related companies and Adbusters'an ally of Blackwater circle. The world is bigger than we think. The Billionaires are simply in charge and my foolish thoughts of rebellion forced me into the streets to live off the grid in make shift cardboard homes, campsites near the lakes of Chicago, under trees and borrowed into the sand near the oceans of Southern California.

I always thought, "If I am just doing improv, showing up clean for the improv show, god will take care of me." But I have seen too first hand how poverty is a sickness and how it infects the spirit and family and one's true calling. I write everyday. I used to improv every day. I now am living the pipe dream project that I have set out to do. Well, almost. The goal is to wake up in LA, write a screenplay all day, spend some time on steemit, see some family for dinner, then improv with The Reckoning again, then just make sure the portfolio is ok before bed. Rinse wash repeat. I am still making foolish and hesitant decisions with trading. I am still not supported by whales or in a voting guild. I once helped Steemtrail but felt guilty tracking them down for payment. But after completing my duties as the first Artistic Director of Comedy Sportz St Louis in November, I have returned to simply sharing what I love with steemit, #improv.

I have seen responsible friends lifted into mansions, or simpley empowered by wonderful families and careers. But I have been recharged as I continue to help my grandmother and live humble. In many ways, I am off the grid, I live in a garage with no heat but space heaters. The laptops are old and running on fumes. The intenet is paid, the storage locker is paid, the coffee is hot. My grandmother is safe. My family worries, but I am not fazed. Obstacles are mighty. I suppose i live on the worldly day rate of about $5 a day. My heart goes out to those on less. My heart goes out to charities and causes worth fighting for. I empathize with the struggling, because I have been there, but now I see the light on the end of the tunnel. I am building a road for myself to the end of the tunnel and along the way hopefully leaving a path for improv and blockchain to empower each other in the future. Maybe improv did keep me alive all this time. The joy of shows, the classes taken and taught, the lessons of being ok with the uncertainties in life.

It is amazing what improv can do for the spirit. It's amazing what Steem is doing for blockchain, for it is the only one I see bringing humanity so close to its potential value. Thank you for letting me wax fantastic, inspired by your humble vision of living simple, in a cozy home.

Hi @teamhumble we bought some land with a friend which had a caravan on it and a ruined house in Portugal this year, with the hope of eventually living an off-grid life there for at least part of the year. We went over to Portugal to purchase it mid-October, but while we were there they had terrible wildfire and the caravan was burnt to ashes and we had to escape through the fires. Our friend wasn't with us at the time of the fires and she is still confident about her plans for the property, but I have been badly affected by the experience and have had to put my dreams on hold at least for now.

holy hell i remember that period of time. you really don't think of the people, land and properties when it's not 'local' or know the lay of the land i guess. amazing you bought some land, time to build a big moat around the property it seems! :) i can totally imagine being scarred by that experience for sure. such a shame that it caused so much devastation, i was in portugal for the first time a few months back, i can't WAIT to get back there.

Portugal's a great place, just visit there in late spring/early summer or in Autumn after the rains have come, and check the national fire forecast! :-)

You'd be welcome to stay in my caravan, but it's not such a private space since the fire, and gets a bit drafty...

well i'm hoping to have a van so be super interested to talk to you about the land purchase and other portugal related things. omg look at that. time to get that covered in solar panels and turn it into a solar carport now. onwards and upwards!

Ohh, I rather fancy a van. Feel free to chat away about Portugal stuff :-)

yeah kinda interested in the process, hurdles you hit, how you sourced the land, rough costs, things you took into account, you know some tips from someone who has been through it i guess. anything you had to do uk side etc.

Ah I remember that was an amazing concept and such a shame it didn’t play out as I know you wanted chap...

yeah, shit happens. it will happen in some way in the future! :)

No doubt chap — onwards and upwards

Great achievement!

Thanks . I always feel smarter after reading your posts. Please keep sharing your thoughts. interesting post

good project i wish you,,, best of luck

It was great to hear that you completed a project of the off-grid project. An excellent sculpture with a complete representation. It is really great that you have done your work, thank you

ooh love that little pod! perfect to air bnb out when you're on the road too- YEP I'm sold... keep steeming and we may be there sooner than you think!

Your post has been promoted by @team-solutions :)
Thank you for the great content. Just tag any future work like this, with @team-solutions and I will happily promote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56085.77
ETH 2369.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31