HOW I TURNED A WOODWORM INFESTED SPANISH CUPBOARD INTO A JEWEL

in #living7 years ago (edited)

20155895_1792449504106260_2039241565742730142_n.jpg

Hi everyone!

Woodworking always fascinates me since I was a kid.. I would watch my dad make simple furnitures and see every details on how all those wood become a dresser for my mom and a bank where all the friends of my brothers seat to play the guitar. Well, I guess I have my dad´s genes... So here I am, turning a vintage cupboard we found in a 2nd hand store in Andalucia into a special piece. Spanish style furnitures are hard to get in Spain because most of the foreigners who chose to have their 2nd home in Spain wanted these furnitures..

IMG_1798.JPG

It´s not easy to find such furnitures in Andalucia. At some point, we even considered going to Morroco to look for those wood-curved pieces that are andalucian in style. Morocco has a great influence in the spanish culture for Spain was once ruled by the Moslems.

IMG_1799.JPG

A friend of ours, called us and said that a new 2nd hand furniture store has opened downed the coast in Algarrobo Costa ( 60 km east of Malaga)... and so we went and found this vintage cupboard. Of course, we fell in love with it right away... It was not a bargain, but it has potencial. And the thing was, the saleslady told us that it has woodworms... OK, what the heck I thought....I would have to treat it with chemicals anyway...

IMG_0378.JPG

I would have to refurbish it at any rate and the idea of refurbishing made me smile...it´s that kind of challenge I needed for some time now and it was my chance.. This is how the upper part looked like after removing the back panels.

IMG_1801.JPG

When the cupboard was delivered, I went to work right away removing the back of the frame as well as its top which was actually covered with a plywood...

IMG_1802.JPG

Our local mason told us that his carpenter friend could provide the panels needed, so I got them alright.

IMAG3085.jpg

IMAG3082.jpg

The 1m x 1m panels even cost more than the cupboard itself. The price was ridiculous, but I really didn´t want to drive 60 km to get those panels from Bauhaus in Malaga. I used ordinary nails to fix the panels and varnish those.

IMAG3084.jpg

Using a fine sandpaper, I sanded the surface again and again to even the scratches and varnish the whole wood until its color equals the lower part of the cupboard..A spray of transparent acrylic paint did the finish.

IMG_1840.JPG

The blue & white porcelain set here on display was manufactured in Germany...I guess, I would have to start collecting andalucian ceramics in (cobalt) blue & white and change the display appropriately. I was overjoyed when I finished the job...it made me smile because finally I got a spanish cupboard that fits the style of our 2nd home in Spain.

If you like what you see .... a follow / comment / upvote / and a resteem would be highly welcomed. Thank you so much for taking the time reading my post.

Happy weekend ahead!

Mers
https://steemit.com/@mers

https://challengingartsandcrafts.blogspot.co.at/2014/06/diy-challenge-spanish-cupboard.html

Sort:  

Usted es un gato de todos los oficios!
Señora asombrosa...

Hahaha... Muchisimas gracias Señor @otom... muy agradable. Aqui tengo muchas fuerzas. Esta es solo un hobby, entonces para mi me le gusta el trabajo.

Es realmente un hombre de negocios, pero como las mujeres quieren la igualdad, está bien para intentar al menos es una especie de prueba de que las mujeres pueden...de nada señora @mers...LOL

Wow this is awesome!

Thank you @june21neneng..wishing you a happy weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37