Living broke...is it a choice or is it predestined?!

in #living3 years ago

homeless.jpg

When I moved out of my parents house with a couple bonds, some gold, and around $2,000, I thought I was set up and ready for the world. I had no idea how to invest money back then so I ended up wasting it all on random party supplies and other dumb choices thinking I can make a quick buck without much work. Man was I wrong!

It was a long time until I ran into money like that again. Well actually it was a lot more then that. I ended up getting $14000 this time but it took a lot of swear, blood, and tears. Oh and a whole lot of time, trying to make my thumb work better after all of the surgeries. Wondering what happened well I will tell you.

I was at a friends house partying and some people wanted to go and get some party supplies and we were looking for someone to drive that was not wasted beyond belief. My friend comes running down the stairs saying he can drive. He looked fine to me but I was not in the right state of mind to make any good calls. Well we get in the car with him, it was about 11pm and it was raining out. He decides to skid out of his apartments complex and we hit a parked car. I saw we were about to hit and I put my hands out and when we hit the airbag came out and tore off my left thumb almost all of the way. I thought I would never be able to use it again.

I was 18 when this happened. It took about 2 years for me to get my hand halfway back to normal and another 2 years for me to receive a letter in the mail from my lawyer with a check for $14000! Guess what I did with this money. The same dumb thing I did with the last chunk. Tried to have fun and become someone I was not.

What I am getting at is what would my life be like if I was taught at a young age to invest and save money. I am teaching my 8 year old about stock, crypto, and saving money. He has gotten pretty good on the computer and teaches me stuff sometimes. I will not let him make the same mistake's I made.

This goes out to those struggling parents. I am there with you and we can unite and change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02