You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let them eat cake or the simple but ignored way out of our world hunger epidemic- Zero Hunger Writing Competition

in #livesustainably6 years ago (edited)

Ok, I'm intrigued by #5 and quite honestly I totally agree with the concept of preventing/reducing certain pregnancies, but ultimately freedom trumps that; so playing devils advocate, I'm wondering how you could effectively implement it without completely wiping out bodily autonomy and the "my body my choice" mindset. Otherwise how do you ensure people don't get pregnant before doing their mandatory orphanage stint?

Also, I personally think a lot of unwanted pregnancies happen because people are too lazy to go get and take even free birth control, and unfortunately you've also got folks who procreate for reasons like "Now he'll marry me," "I want to get out of going on deployment," "another kid means a bigger welfare check/WIC stuff I can sell," ALL of them looking at a short term selfish gain and taking no thought to the fact that they've just created a human they'll have to feed for 18 years...and those are often the ones going hungry and neglected, I'm betting. How do you solve that aspect? (Again, not being difficult, just curious!)

Sort:  

Without being world dictator probably never. However the welfare mom stuff really are a super minority even amongst the uneducated poor. Most of them really do not know how to prevent getting pregnant when they are young and then just think "what is one more". Now the "well now he will marry me" types are sadly a dime a dozen it's repugnant. Also money does not guarantee good parents, my mother is filthy rich and was a literal nightmare she never should have been allowed to have children.

So now reality -we could significantly reduce unwanted pregnancies with free contraceptives everywhere as well as good sex ed. European countries like Germany , Norway , Sweden ect . prove that, but totally eliminate it -no because there are uneducated idiots and the "I wanna marry him people there too".

In the third world it is a combination of two things lack of education and a high child mortality rate. People have more kids to ensure one survives. Statistically it is proven countries with good healthcare have less population, Bill Gates who I usually profoundly dislike made a good video about it.

Now if I were world dictator things would be vastly different . Most people think me to be a progressive but in some ways I am no in fact I am in some ways a totalitarian. Anyone who was of age would get tube plugs installed (which can be removed actually ) and penis switches installed wich are to date experimental but work (they basically close and shut the sperm duct).

As horrible as it sounds I would rather have people do test tube babies as there is a ton of things that can be prevented that way but I am willing to negotiate on that part. Now keep in mind that my world would have a resource based economy there is no money. This removes the "money incentive from the plate. In a world where the monetary system still exists, the fear of fines and higher taxation rates works wonders.

Even granted that as a right-leaning libertarian, I disagree with totalitarianism, in a world with you as dictator I would totally take forced contraception over forced abortions. I learned something today, I had no idea tube plugs or experimental penis switches were even a thing! I wonder how many more unwanted pregnancies will be prevented in the future with reversible, non-pharmaceutical options like those available?! Kind of gives you the best of both worlds to not have your hormones messed with, but also be able to reverse the procedure!

Nods for the longest time I was mostly an anarchist but humanity beat it out of me. I so want to have everyone be free but look how people are using their freedom it is driving me nuts. The problem is that humanity needs an intervention but that our politicians are to corrupt and most of us could not handle being dictator... What we really need is option 6 >>>>>>>>>

Alien Invasion

I so want to have everyone be free but look how people are using their freedom it is driving me nuts.

Having a libertarian mindset takes dogged determination sometimes, simply because of this! You want everyone to be freeee to take care of and mind their own business in life, and then you find yourself face palming at idiocy right and left and thinking "somebody needs to straighten these folks out!"

I lol'd at Alien Invasion. Not a bad option at all! Hahaha

Common sense is not found easily on either side of the fence sadly we neet ET's finger - we gotta phone someone :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62585.78
ETH 3013.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49