Let's Get Down to Bees-ness: Livesustainably Don't Buy It Challenge

in #livesustainably6 years ago (edited)

Hey folks, Mrs. Canadian Renegade popping in again. I've been seeing a lot of submissions to the Don't Buy It Challenge being held by @livesustainably in our feed and I couldn't help but wonder if there was anything I could do to participate. Then, as I was chopping up my supper vegetables early in the day, I realized the answer was right under my nose!

Food Wrap

Once all of my chopped veggies were neatly tucked inside a lidless bowl, I decided I wasn't going to reach for the plastic wrap to use as a cover. Instead, I reached into my cupboard and pulled out the bees wax food wraps we had received from Matt's mom as a Christmas gift. She is always so creative when it comes to reusing and recycling. She had taken extra fabric she had lying around, coated it lightly with bees wax, then trimmed the edges with pinking shears. She even recycled a cardboard tube to store the food wrap around (I told you she's crafty).

Food Wrap 2

The wax makes the fabric somewhat pliable as well so you can just use your hands to scrunch it up around the container you are sealing. It was a perfect fit!

When I am done with the food wrap, I give it a wipe with cool water, to keep the wax intact, then return it to the tube until another day.


Thanks for reading everyone. I am grateful for any support you wish to give. As always, comments are welcome and I would be happy to answer any questions you might have.

Sort:  

Geinus, I am now doing this. I don't know why I didn't think of it. I love using the old paper towel rolls for things. I always wrap my christmas lights on them when they get put away after the holidays.

So clever! Those tubes are really handy. I even use toilet paper tubes to manage the cord for my hair dryer and I learned that tidy trick from my own mom. -A

That's smart! I've never tought I could use bee wax to shape fabrics

Great post!
Thanks for using the ecoTrain tag but please do not use it in future. We use this tag to organise the ecoTrain and it makes it hard for us when others use it.
The ecoTrain tag is meant to indicate membership in the ecotrain group and is not a topic tag for general use.
Thank you !
The ecoTrain Conductor

@likedeeler thanks for the heads up and my apologies for the improper use. I will update my tags. Cheers! -Aimee

No worries!
Thank you.
Eco-friendly is also a nice tag. 👍

@likedeeler after your message I started reading through ecotrain magazine and I think you guys are sharing some great content! We were wondering what the membership all involves. At the moment, we are mostly tiny house focused but we have plans to transition into homesteading and permaculture related content and already have some related posts. Would we be a match for the ecotrain? -Aimee

Thank you. All the passengers right now are great contributors.
Yes, definitely, though we already got quite a few passengers covering those things sort of.
What so far nobody has done I guess is like a real series about permaculture design principles from a more scientific view, you know like in the books, people write more about their daily lives and experiences, which is of course also fine because it´s authentic.
Also at the moment the train is packed, we took on quite a few new passengers recently, but you can mail @eco-alex
at [email protected] to express your interest in ecotrain, we might take on new passengers in February, though I personally think, as long as none of the passengers is leaving, it might get time for a second train.
Why don´t you catch yourself some whales and start your own?
You could then become the driver and boss around others. 😉

Thank you for following up with my inquiry! I can understand wanting to keep the train diverse in content but I will connect with @eco-alex just in case there is room for us to board. As for catching whales we are still navigating the seemit realm and are newbie fishermen. 😆 Starting our own train sounds enticing but between tiny house living, caring for infant twins, building a house, and setting up our property this year I am not sure where we would find the time to boss anyone around. I will definitely keep the concept in mind for the future though because I really like the idea of gathering quality content and bringing it to others attention. I hope you have a wonderful day! -Aimee

Good thinking! I have a couple of these too!

Great post! A friend told me if you rub your hands together you can sort of mold it with the heat of your hands to seal it too!

The molding is a little tricky but I never thought to warm up my hands first. Smart! Thank you. -Aimee

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

Thanks! pats self on back
-A

Hands you a raw egg drink ...wait - that's for Matthew, nevermind.

BRAH! Did you just use a microaggressioN!?

BRAH! Did you read the article? Is a downvote a microaggressioN!?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50