Building Master Scenes in OBS 19.0.2

in #livestreaming7 years ago

Building Master Scenes in OBS (19.0.2)

prepare for the vulcan mind meld.

Software and Hardware are my favourite. I love the combination of creativity flow you get when you take a piece of hardware, make it talk to your computer and then add your layer of creative sprinkles over the top of it - that's how i feel about using OBS, it's a fantastic piece of free open source software that anyone can download and use for absolutely free.

The most powerful feature IMO is the ability to use sources as scenes, that is have a pre-configured source layer with all your master overlays and use that as a base to make another scene, you change anything on the master source and it automatically updates on all the other scenes - super powerful and helps with rapidly prototyping looks and styles.

I've gone to the next level with it to make a course layout system for my udemy courses. I was finding that i have an issue with flow when recording my videos for my courses, it felt so much of a grind, unfriendly even to jump between keynote, desktop, webcam, overlays, screen casting. So many things just in flux and depending on my mood it could derail everything i was doing.


In the screencast i worked through the OBS settings that I've made for 19.0.2 (should work with all future versions too unless they change anything with scenes!) I've literally made a bunch of scenes and sources and i customise those scenes depending on what section I'm in. I wanted to achieve the following. ..

  • have all the sections from 1.0 to 1.5 (six sections)
  • Six topics per sections, with three topics on each clip
  • Each clip will be around 5 minutes (webcam, screencast, mix)
  • 36 x 5 minute clips equals around three hours of teaching/content
  • Progress check in at the end of each section
  • Where you are in the course and how long left to go
  • Dynamic text includes so for future only update the text files
  • Function key switching to different views as part of master scene

I was finding it super difficult mentally to switch modes of operation between keynote, recording a screencast or wanting to have an overlay or switch to my desktop/screencast and then managing all the assets i created, i needed a better way of doing it so I've decided on doing part of it in OBS because it gives me a few additional benefits and actually helps me get established in streaming again at the same time!

From now on, each course i make which is around three hours long I'm going to stream and record, if you watch along with the stream you can ask questions and basically get the course for free, it does mean however you have to stay around for three hours to get all the information however as I'll be deleting the VOD and using the recorded elements as my udemy post or skillshare course.

I think this is pretty fair, supply and demand right in the right place at the right time - different data silos for different on demand needs, from youtube to amazon, set-top boxes to mobility - not licensing as such but getting paid for my content based on time and place shown - kinda makes sense to me especially if platforms are going to change faster than before. i can certainly see startup platforms coming and going in a shorter period of time than before, especially with platforms like facebook adding features on top of initial video experiments to appear current with live video (i.e because twitter had it)

if you have any questions about the power of OBS and live streaming just drop me a message i’d love to help you out with any issues you have, i’ve been hired a few times in the last few months to assist people in getting their live streaming show to the next level. i can do that for you as well, just drop me a message and let’s talk!

TRUST AND AUTHENTICATION. .

http://socialgandalf.com/legacypinterest epic wins pinboard → i was a brand advocate for nokia, 1000heads, verisign → won a vloggie for involvement in node666 (san francisco 2006) → on television for time team history hunters 1999 (burton on trent) → sold me.dm to evan williams (twitter) in april 2011 for 5 figures → went to phil campbell, alabama to help repair/recovery/help raise money month after a tornado ripped through the town (was on sky news, bbc news, al jazeeza, nightly news, alabama weather channel?!) → CNN for sxsw 2013 about austin south by southwest event → video chat with robert scoble from rackspace → i was in a music video can you spot me? → won the digital derry contest for 5k euros to kickstart web tv studio → did project work with sleepydog indirectly for nesta (responder) → crowdfunded digital signage concept called the pi street (do it for steem?)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66