Part 1 - How to Stream to DLive + 5 Other Services Simultaneously: IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #livestream6 years ago

640.jpg

When I got booted off YouTube for no good Goddamn reason, I decided I wasn't going to be a passive victim about it, but rather go on the offensive, to the extent that I can as a small time nobody going up against IRL Evil Corp.

Step 1 of my plan to withdraw from my abusive relationship with youtube was to test out a bunch of other platforms in a crazy weekend of whack-a-mole marathon streaming. After successful streams to all six, I decided to try my hand at restreaming or multistreaming.

We eventually got all six going at the same time! Here's how we did it:

Restream.io

This site offers streaming to select sites unless you pay for their premium package. We can stream to these services for free though:

  • Twitch
  • YouTube
  • Periscope
  • Mixer

For the services not included for free by Restream, we use a:

Local RTMP Server

The server runs the nginx webserver software, with a module called nginx-rtmp installed. We tell the webserver to push the feed to:

  • DLive
  • Facebook
  • Restream

Then we set OBS to stream to the address of your RTMP server, which streams to DLive, Facebook, and Restream. Restream then sends it to Twitch, YouTube, Periscope, Mixer.

Like this:

6-platforms.jpg

The next article in the series will go into the technical details of how to set this up.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I am interested in the details of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28