Why am I here on steemit?

in #liverpool6 years ago (edited)

So here on steemit there are probably two main themes I will post about to start with, writing / poetry and Liverpool FC. These might not seem like common bedfellows to many people, but both are part of me, they make me me, despite having very different paths in the story of me.

Poetry has lain within me as a hidden secret for years. I have occasionally written poems that come to me sporadically, or impulsively as I call it now, but until this year haven’t shared a single one. This came to haunt me in 2017 when my iPhone accidentally had its content deleted, and all the poems I had on there were lost, forever. I actually grieved over that loss, probably more than the loss of the photographs that I had on the phone. Photo’s I have thousands off, losing a small chunk of my life in pictures was nothing compared to the loss of those poems. It felt like a little part of my soul was lost. The people close to me at the time, my family, didn’t quite understand why I reacted so strongly. How would they know what that writing meant to me, the infrequent burst of creativity was what probably keeping my soul alive during darker times. I didn’t realise until last year what the writing actually meant to me.

So now I am determined to make sure that I never suffer such loss, and to stop hiding something that means so much to me. I have to come out of the shadows, throw off the fear of judgement and ridicule which stifles my ability to share, and move the roadblock that my own mind has created.

And Liverpool – the obvious (to those who know me) and most open part of me, the bit of me that reveals more of my emotion in life than anything else. I have often shared my thoughts with friends and family on this topic. While I was in ‘office drone’ life, you could guarantee that Monday’s and the day after midweek games would see me providing my opinion to anyone who asked, like I was something connected with Liverpool itself. Someone once said that ‘opinions are like arseholes, everybody’s got one’, and I certainly have them about Liverpool. I am a glass half full kind of guy, I have patience where others don’t (sometimes blindly, stupidly), and I often quietly hold interesting and different opinions and thoughts that don’t make it beyond a close circle of friends. Until now.

Football stirs emotions like no other sport in the world in terms of the scale and scope across the planet. It is probably the most commonly shared emotion-stirrer outside of survival, family, love and life itself. And people who follow it on social media can sometimes forget themselves, let their emotions run wild and say and do things they probably wouldn’t face to face in open society. So I am hoping that the community here in steemit-land can appreciate my views, provide feedback and contrasting opinions, but that we all remain above the level of acceptable social behaviour.

Sort:  

Good post Larry, and yes, everybody has got one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65