SUCCESSFUL IN THE QUEST.

in #live7 years ago

images (59).jpg
I recently learned an important lesson about life from an unlikely place--my son's Nintendo game. My experience with super mario bros, has taught me something valuable. Let me explain.
From the very first screen, I was entranced. I love every aspect of the game. Releasing Magic Mushrooms. The power boost of a Fire Flower. Chrushing the Goombas and the Koopa Troopa. Gathering coin, it was all so exciting and new.images (58).jpg
I played day after day. The challenge was a real charge. I learned how to de-wing the koopa paratroopa, defeat the hammer brothers and defang the pirana plants.
HowHowever after a while, i began to grow frustrated. My initial excitement began yo fade because i couldn't make it to the last world. I longed to face Bowser,king of the Koopa. I wanted to save the princess and break the evil spell over the mushroom kingdom.
I was persistent, i continued to play. My ability grew, my scores rose,. The number of lives i could gather increased,but saving the princess eluded me.
Then my son show me a few secrets likenthe hidden "one ups" on several of the screens. He told me where some extra coins where located. I got further, but the goal was still beyond my reach.
Later, one of my son's friend showed me another helpful shortcut. There was a way to go directly from world four to world eight. I didnt know if he had been told about this secret path or found it himself, but obviously it was a big help to me.
Then came the final breakthrough. I read a copy of Nintendo Power, the authoritative word on the game. It reveal tips including the unlimited "one ups" available in world three. Once i learned how to accumulate lives,getting to world eight was a common occurrence. And i finally got to save the Princess!
So i learned a lesson. My enjoyment in playing the game was important. My persistent was vital, and i could play the game with some success on my own for a long time,but talking to others who were engaged in the quest for the Princess and reading the authority that told me some "secrets" to success were vital to my success with the game. So never give up and remember to share your difficulties and ideas with people.

Sort:  

Congratulations @solstevens! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @solstevens! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37