Sunday fair in a small town of Šalčininkai

in #lithuania7 years ago (edited)

Sunday fair

As I wrote in my last blog, my mom and I make handmade crafts. That includes bracelets, pendants, necklaces and earrings with semi-gemstones. Today we are working in a little town called Šalčininkai. The town got its name from the flowing river Šalčia, which is right next to the this beautiful place. Even though it‘s a small town it‘s still a great place to spend time and enjoy nature. Right in the heart of the town there is a park, which everyone will love, because there is plenty of greenery and tall trees. For me that‘s one of the things why I take joy in spending my time working in festivals. It is refreshing to get out of the city once in a while. If you can, do it more often. Traveling helps to be open-minded and positive.

steemitslapt.JPG

In this fair it is fun to see so many happy people, watch all age groups doing folk dances and singing. Fairs are a good way to bring the community together. Adults put their work aside and spend their precious time with family members. That‘s what life is actually about, bringing joy to one another.
20170521_122713.jpg
20170521_122833.jpg
Besides music and dancing it‘s fun to walk around the fair and see what other small business owners are making. Some go the traditional way and sell food, beer, kvass, meat, bread and candies. That‘s probably at least half of what you can find in the fair. Others sell handmade clothes, jewelry, other accessories like handbags, wooden toys, paintings and of course balloons. When I was a kid, to get a balloon was one of the most important thing to do. Now the most important thing is work, but that does not mean I don‘t enjoy spending my time here. I love it.

20170521_122814.jpg

Today‘s a hot day, so I enjoyed a cup of cold coffee and later on some ice cream. I went to the park and sat down on the bench to relax for a second.

20170521_123419.jpg

While drinking my cup of coffee, I had a thought about music. I like folk, 80s and 90s music, so as todays music too. But I was thinking about how big of a difference is between fairs in smaller towns and cities.

20170521_122800.jpg

In cities we usually hear popular Lithuanian music, European and American hits. But when I go to smaller towns like Šalčininkai, I see a huge contrast. Of course, there are many reasons why that takes effect.

In Lithuania we have a big problem of emigration. People are going to other countries by massive numbers, if you considere our population. Young adults, who don't want to leave their native country, go to more crowded cities like Kaunas or Vilnius. That leaves smaller cities with a population, that largest percentage is consisted by people of older age. And I guess that's the main reason why there is such a difference. Organizers have to look into that and make a conclusion on how the festivities will take place and what music will be played. Folk music is the best choice, if you are targeting to satisfy the elders in Lithuania. So I think there is nothing wrong that in smaller towns we hear folk music. It is a part of our culture and we should appreciate it.

That's all I have for today.

Have a wonderful day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.49
ETH 2366.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56