You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - Edgar Allan Poe: Root of Literary Modernity (Part I)

in #literature5 years ago

So... he was an unhappy man not different from many other people living at that time. Did he mend to be dramatic, see the world just black and ventilate his feelings this way or was it just coincedence people, way later, said he was a great writer (something that happened with many great artist, painters for example).

I never read anything he wrote, it is not in our culture, nor at the literature booklist for English. I wonder why.

I also wonder how come his depressions are "great", seen as artistic (I do believe certain burden, life experiences is needed to write with the heart) and if writers living now suffer from it they are locked up.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Edgar Allan Poe, like many writers and artists in general, was tormented by several factors in his life, and his spirit was able to express it in his transcendental literary work. It is strange that he is not part of the studies of literature in his country. Almost all of his stories and poems are available on the Internet. I forgot to put a link to access them. I will do it in the second part of the post. Thank you for your comment, @wakeupkitty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67292.64
ETH 3242.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64