You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Question of Humanity: The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey

in #literature6 years ago

I loved this one. I thought it was well written and really different.

If you're into zombie lit, have you read Arden Bell's books or Colston Whitehead's zombie book? Loved both.

Sort:  

Thank you. I appreciate the feedback.
Zombie literature is quite new to me. I'm usually not a big fan of zombies so The Girl With All The Gifts surprised me because I quite enjoyed it. I appreciated the questions of ethics and humanity that Carey raises throughout the novel.

Yes. Arden Bell does the same. The young narrator can't remember a world without zombies and muses about the preciousness of all life. Zombie literary fiction is a thing - who know. I love zombie films but until I found Carey, Whitehead and Bell I didn't know they could be well written. There's also an awesome anthology called Living Dead edited by John Joseph Adams which is fantastic as well - they are really great metaphors for social ills across time.

I'll have to check those titles out! Thanks for sharing them.
I think the zombie genre allows for important conversations about humanity, society, and as you said, the preciousness of life. I think people (including myself, until recently) underestimate the power that fictional narratives can have in raising important conversations and encouraging discussion about such topics.

As an English teacher, it's the message I'm trying to communicate to my students in response to: 'why do we have to read this, miss?' :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29