Melville, Stevenson, Conrad: who is the greatest? (And portraits)

in #literature8 years ago

I did a lot of portraits of writers in my work as a painter. I like to portray writers I love and whose books are important to me. In these painting I try to put the writer and his books how I see them.

So I want to show you today mai paintings for Hermann Melville, Robert Louis Stevenson and Joseph Conrad, three great writers who wrote sea accounts.

I'm not seriously asking who is the greater: just who is your favourite and why. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @paolobeneforti. Lovely portraiture....it seems like meeting them for the first time. The colours are well chosen.

Your query regarding the authors is a good one.....Who is not familiar with 'Treasure Island.....Robert Louis Stevenson' s work is well loved as it is most familiar and his poems memorable and read time and time again. Joseph Conrad's work is powerful and his way with words outstanding. Hermann Melville's work of 'Moby Dick' probably gave many school children their first view of life at sea. One may need to open a couple of books to refresh the grey cells of these classic authors. Thank you for bringing them to Steemit to bring to our remembrance these writers.

thx for your reply and your words, bleujay :)

Nice, my friend! All three are great writers...personally, I like Stevenson, only because of his style and choice of material, not that he was a superior writer.

thx richq11! yes, Stevenson was not only of writer of the sea, of course :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68