A portrait and some quotes of Kurt Vonnegut

in #literature8 years ago (edited)

Here is a fast motion sketch for a portrait of great writer Kurt Vonnegut. I owe him a lot. Everyone owes him a lot, in my humble opinion. And hooray for our team! :)

And here are some quotes from books and speeches of this amazing man:

“We are what we pretend to be, so we must be careful about what we pretend to be.” 

“Those who believe in telekinetics, raise my hand.” 

“I want to stand as close to the edge as I can without going over. Out on the edge you see all kinds of things you can't see from the center.” 

“Everything was beautiful and nothing hurt.” 

“And on the subject of burning books: I want to congratulate librarians, not famous for their physical strength or their powerful political connections or their great wealth, who, all over this country, have staunchly resisted anti-democratic bullies who have tried to remove certain books from their shelves, and have refused to reveal to thought police the names of persons who have checked out those titles.

So the America I loved still exists, if not in the White House or the Supreme Court or the Senate or the House of Representatives or the media. The America I love still exists at the front desks of our public libraries.” 

“True terror is to wake up one morning and discover that your high school class is running the country.”

Sort:  

Great! Kurt lived on Cape Cod in Mass. One day when we were down there we decided to just drop in on him, of course to inform him how great he is and how profoundly he had influenced us. He was a remarkably humble man. He proved to only to be a great writer, he was a wonderful human being as well.

Thx! It'a amazing to get a reply from someone who met Kurt :)

I love his books...there's never been anyone quite like him!

Ciao bello, veramente un post fantastico! Sono talmente contento che siete con noi qui a Steemit!

I LOVED the video and the quotes and I am thrilled that you and your wife are having success here!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Grazie mille! Very nice of you. :)

Excellent work! I'm curious, how much was your video sped up?

honestly, I don't remember. But I think the whole drawing took about 20' to me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60