You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - Edgar Allan Poe: Root of Literary Modernity (Part I)

in #literature5 years ago

If there's one writer known for his scary, intriguing texts, it's Edgar Allan Poe. He is considered one of the storytellers of all time, as his literature revived the genre of police and terror, making him the master of science fiction. Very few writers have had like Poe the feeling of fatality, of tragic necessity, perhaps in our language and literature a Horacio Quiroga, but Poe's darkness is unique and inimitable. I must admit that I like him better as a narrator. His texts, La caída de la casa Usher, El Gato Negro (a masterpiece of the horror genre), Los crímenes de la calle Morgue (a history of the police genre), El corazón delator (a tale that mixes terror with the police) are my favorites and the best known. In poetry, I believe that El cuervo is his most read and exalted piece, although I must admit that as a poet I have read it very little. That chattering bird that remains forever perched on the pale bust of Palas, while the lyrical speaker is also a prisoner of his presence, can never be forgotten, "Never again". Pending the second part of this good work. Thank you for sharing, @josemalavem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07