Introduction (Hybrid poem for now and always)

in #literature7 years ago (edited)

This is a translation for my very first post in the community. Hope you all enjoy it.

Recently, for a yearbook of an association to which I belong, I was asked for a phrase describing my personality. As a good Literature student, my first and most obvious choice was to steal another man's words. Words that had echoed in my own soul. However, I was told that no quotes were allowed, that it should be "something more personal": projects, aspirations, forseeing my life in five years.

I have never been good for that sort of things. In fact, I have never known where to place myself in a space. I usually do not know where I stand; I do not find a place where I can sit back, behold the landscape and say "This is who I am and this is what I do". I am, in short, an imprecise beast.

This was only context. Being my first blog entry, I assume that it might interest more than one of these friends that we collect on social networks. Here is my reply to the email:

Good Morning.
The truth is that it is impossible for me to do that. Not because I do not have an idea of ​​who I am and what I want, but because if I organize those ideas and utter those words, I annihilate the possibility of every other signifier, more things that I could be and I have not yet discovered... And not only would I limit myself so fiercely. If I say those words, I expect something from life, even more: I seem to demand something from it; and it owes me nothing.

How do I see myself, in five years, in a country like Venezuela and studying Literature? I see myself alive, in some corner of his concrete entrails, in his uncertain fog.
But alive.

In five years I want to turn off the lights and feel a heart pounding in my chest;
and to embrace as many as I can and to help whoever wants it;
and to love until the walls that shelter me collapse into themselves;
and to listen to the violent whisper of the streets;
and to learn the language of the jungle;
and to plant flowers on the pavement;
and to fall asleep in parks and buses;
and to be devoured by the rain, caressed by the hail;
and to walk aimlessly until I lose myself;
and to disappear into the lightning and to appear back in the ocean.

I want to bleed out my ruined veins until I understand;
and to be destroyed in beautiful ways;
and to be brought to my knees;
and to weep tears that plow my face;
and to stir up some stranger's heart with art;
and to sing out of tune, until the neighbors ask me to shut up;
and to pretend that I know what I am doing;
and to lock myself in an untouchable place;
and to laugh and to smile;
and to make someone laugh.

I want to be angry and curse;
and to look at me in the mirror to confirm that I am still a human;
and to swear to my mother that I'm not crazy;
and to discover secrets in words;
and to think to know that, therefore, I exist;
and to listen to music that explains life itself;
and to kill a king, to be captured;
and to kiss the grass that grounds my feet;
and to have a thousand faces under my skin;
and to die and to be reborn.

In five years and in ten years and in twenty years. The only difference is that I will be five, ten, twenty years older.
I want to live a humanly imperfect life.
I want to live and to know that I have lived.

—OM.

Sort:  

👏🏻👏🏻😄 Welcome to Steemit! I am very happy that you join our community! I wish you all the best on this platform and in your life too! You can count on me for what you need, you just have to write to me and I'll be answering soon. I send you a big hug from Argentina! My name is Marcos @kryptoland 😄👍🏻🇦🇷

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57