You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - Distant, Novelesque and Lugubrious (English Romanticism - Part II)

Very excited I read this II part of English Romanticism because the first one I loved. I confess that I have read very little English literature, possibly several classics. All the references you make of the writers is very illustrative. I pay attention to the quote quote from Abrams when interpreting a poem by Percy Shelley "man is the agent of his own fall, the tyrant of himself, his own avenger and his own potential redeemer." It seems to me that the whole quote contains the characteristics of English Romanticism.
On the other hand, in spite of how popular Byron could be for his narrative, my favorite is Mary Shelley and her work Frankenstein. I confess to me as a reader and re-reader of this wonderful Gothic novel. For me he has everything. And Eco's quote about Shelly is spectacular: "Beauty can now express itself by making opposites converge, so what is ugly is not negation, but the other side of beauty." It reminds me a lot of Rodin about his perception of beauty.
Very nice your post @josemalavem. Best regards and thanks for sharing @adsactly

Sort:  

Thank you for your attentive reading and your sharp comment, @marcybetancourt. You highlight two quotes that also seem very relevant to me. Among several of the contributions that we must recognize to romanticism, and to English in particular, is this rupture with the dualist, Manichean vision, which allowed us to see other faces of things, which made possible a less closed and dogmatic vision. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57159.76
ETH 2351.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38