A Day To Die Well

in #literature6 years ago

A DAY TO DIE WELL!

Tell me that which resides deep in you
Against the will of our land; say, a sorcerers view.
Destined to be lost in the nile,
Far away from home, she writes... in lieu:

"For the love of my star, the painter's son
That wherever he be, I so follow.
So away I go, travelling rays of the sun
Till joy found buffer this pain, my sorrow"

Where I be, I swear to care not
For death harnessed beckon in mine vine;
In him alone is free, a treasure you n'er bought
And dread locked be our twist, but I'll be fine.

So unto this journey, I'm lost; an empire's outcast!
Betrayed by my phlegm, against her will,
Sold out to the wild, swallowed by the vast
A mortal's fate, belated neither by faith nor zeal.

And when I found the sculpture laid
Closer to the beauty of life, again I drew;
To touch it's body, for a dime not paid
Sake for a wine without taste, though well brewed.

Hurray! This be the perfect moon
With which brings a life to its eternal halt!
Astray not had I thread, so freely be I groomed
For this be a day to die, and die well in the court.

Shaibu Majeed Idowu

Sort:  


only 3 days left hurry...Go to my profile for clickable link.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41