LEGEND OF THE SUN, MOON & STARS : ALAMAT NG ARAW, BUWAN AT MGA BITUIN (Filipino Fictional Story - Originally Translated)

in #literature8 years ago (edited)

Lead me to the country rich in folklore and i will show you the country rich in culture.

Once upon a time, everywhere was merely bright. There was no existence of night because the sun and moon always stay together. 

As husband and wife, Sun was bossy and demanding to Moon. He did not give importance to her, while Moon was so kind. All sun’s commands and orders were obeyed by moon even for orders that were supposed to be refuted. 

One day, Sun wanted to stroll and roam around so he ordered moon to seethe the leaves of yam. “When I come back my pot must be ready and full of seethed leaves of yam!”, ordered by Sun to his terrified wife, Moon.  

But, definitely the stewed leaves will shrunk by the time you got home”, as Moon gently explained and appears to be enslaved to her overbearing husband. “I don’t care, make sure the pot is full when I come back!”, as he shouted at the frightened wife. 

Whimpering Moon knew that the pot will never be full once leaves were seethed. But she continues to patiently cook the leaves of the yam. No matter how much she tried filling the pot, it always has an unfilled space within. 

Once Sun is back, he asked about the stewed leaves. I have done everything I could but I could never make the pot full, the leaves shrunk, said the stuttering Moon. 

You could never make things right, Sun yelled. Last week I told you to change the color of the blue sea but you could never do it! I also asked you to kill all the hills and mountains in the west but what did you do? You just shrugged my orders off. 

“I am your wife and not your servant!” exclaimed by the furious Moon. “ We have equal rights, if you think I am your slave, we’d rather separate.” 

“Well, if that is what you want then be it,” arrogantly replied by Sun. 

“I am the mother of the children so they must come with me.” 

“So you can freeze them to death?” a provoking replied of Sun.  

“How can you take them?” They will certainly die at your excessive heat, Moon argued. 

“The children must come with me since I am the father”, Sun answered. 

“I am the mother that embraces them always!” The two fought each other. While they were hauling the children, the latter fell in the galaxy. Moon quickly chased her children that became clusters of stars in the sky. 

Now, Sun patiently waits for the return of his wife and children while sitting on his brilliant throne. 

During daytime we can see the proud and raging sun at the sky. 

At night we can see the faint light of the moon and the glittering stars in the sky. 

As the adage goes: LEAD ME TO THE COUNTRY RICH IN FOLKLORE AND I WILL SHOW YOU THE COUNTRY RICH IN CULTURE. 

ENJOY. THANK YOU FOR VISITING. 

Image source: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiRn_LdkPHPAhUBVRQKHfUrAXkQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fthe-intelligentleman.deviantart.com%2Fart%2FSun-Moon-and-Stars-342876765&psig=AFQjCNE_QvhX3WiROkqOfmd-CQJuRBmyjQ&ust=1477318848469754


Sort:  

Very cool, maybe you will be interested in my work

Thanks vikaart, i just saw your work, love the Indian girl.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65128.28
ETH 2950.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64