You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADsactly Literature - Supremacy of Reality (Literary Realism)

in #literature5 years ago

Outstanding post, @josemalavem. With your accustomed thoroughness you take us along one of the most important literary movements. I am more familiar with Realism in the USA, but I am fully aware of its indeptedness to European, especially French, Realism.
Most of my favorite authors and works belong to this period, and as you point out Modernism, America's ultimate literary achievement, is founded on Realism and its social and aesthetic tenets..
Looking forward to more on the subject.

Sort:  

I appreciate your reading and comment, @hlezama. Indeed, realism, in its broadest sense, has some important crests in American literature: Melville, Twain, James... I approached French as the manifestation where it catches (as a first flame) more in historical conjunction (recent romanticism, subsequent naturalism). I would like to write something later about how literary modernity is walking in the USA. See you later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07