You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature: Stéphane Mallarmé, Renewer of the Aesthetic Canon of Poetry (Part I)

in #literature5 years ago

Very good introduction toa complex but brilliant poet. Maybe we are reaching a point where more people will want to look for refuge in the ideal world, the real one turning each day into a contradictory nightmare.
About Poe, Mallarmé wrote that he hoped that

este granito al menos detenga eternamente
los negros vuelos que alce el Blasfemo futuro.

I guess many writers have taken upon themselves the mission of preserving and elevating the language of the classical works and, if not humanity as a whole, at least save themselves from the blasfemous mundanity of the real world.

Sort:  

Thank you for your reading and comment, @hlezama. I think Mallarmé (as well as Baudelaire) owes a lot to Poe (hence that beautiful tribute in that sonnet of which I quote his famous poetic phrase) in his position before creation, for moving away from the ease and direct expression of the personal.
In my position before poetry (I try to personalize as little as possible my articles in this long series), I can have many differences with Mallarmé's ideas, seen today, but his contribution to poetry as conception and art is undeniable, especially in his vision of ontological transcendence of this and in the very form of presenting the poem.
Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63