Fifty Shades of Grey (Book 1, 2, & 3)

in #literature6 years ago (edited)

The first time I heard of Fifty Shades of Grey, I never paid attention. It was the movie actually. I didn’t know it had a book, or a series for that matter. Fast forward to about a year and half later, I found them – the books that movies were made from, and I have to say, I absolutely love them.

E L James did justice to those books. The narration is just beautiful, same with the plot. I couldn’t drop any of them till I finished, the repetition of the word 'blanch' and the kinky parts not withstanding.

Another thing I love about them is the way the story is told in first person. I write in first person a whole lot and I have discovered that kind of easier for me. I relate more with my characters. Some say a writer leaves a part of himself or herself in every story but, sometimes, you will be writing a story and you discover that it just isn’t flowing. I mean, the plot and settings are in place and okay but you writing it feels detached, like it’s not really coming from deep within. The story may still come out nice or not. Writing in first person takes care of that for me. Maybe that’s why I love the books. Plus the humour.

The continuation is good too. And that last part in book three where the author told the story from Christian Grey’s point of view. That place gave me some story ideas.

Let’s take a look at the first one.

IMG_20180902_131646_913.JPG

This one follows Anastasia Steel as she drives to Christian Grey’s office to cover an interview for her sick friend Kate. Twenty-one and about to graduate from college, she has big dreams and men aren’t one of them. She fell into Christian’s office embarrassed but still manages to pull off the interview. Christian on the other hand is quite impressed and fascinated by her. Everything in his body screams at him to stay away but he can’t . He’s however, not aware that going after her will mean a life changing relationship for him. Anna, naïve and very innocent, fall for his charm before she realises it. Now, who is going to save the other?

Here’s an excerpt:

The roads are clear as I set off from Vancouver, Washington, toward Interstate 5. It’s early, and I don’t have to be in Seattle until two this afternoon. Fortunately, Kate has lent me her sporty Mercedes CLK. I’m not sure Wanda, my old VW Beetle, would make the journey in time. Oh, the Merc is a fun drive, and the miles slip away as I hit the pedal to the metal.
My destination is the headquarters of Mr. Grey’s global enterprise. It’s a huge twenty-story office building, all curved glass and steel, an architect’s utilitarian fantasy, with GREY HOUSE written discreetly in steel over the glass front doors. It’s a quarter to two when I arrive, greatly relieved that I’m not late as I walk into the enormous—and frankly intimidating – glass steel and white sandstone lobby. Behind the solid sandstone desk, a very attractive, groomed, blonde young woman smiles pleasantly at me. She’s wearing the sharpest charcoal suite jacket and a white shirt I have ever seen. She looks immaculate.


IMG_20180902_131730_092.JPG

Book two continues with Christian and Ana’s relationship. The hard and soft limits. Christian’s challenges and his relationship with Elena – Mrs. Robinson. It’s also shows the progressive relationship of both families.

Excerpt:

I have survived Day Three Post – Christian, and my first day at work. It has been a welcome distraction. The time has flown by in a haze if new faces. Collecting my bag, I shrug into my jacket and head foe the door. Out in the early evening air of Seattle, intake a deep breath. It doesn’t begin to fill the void in my chest, a void that’s been present since Saturday morning, a painful hollow reminder of my loss. I walk towards the bus’s stop with my head down, staring at my feet and contemplating being without my beloved Wanda, my old Beetle or the Audi. I shut the door on that thought immediately. No, don’t think about him. Of course I can afford a car, a nice new car. I suspect he has been over generous in his payment and the thought leaves a bitter taste in my mouth.


IMG_20180902_131755_848.JPG

Book three is the final one in the series. Here, Christian overcomes all his challenges with the help of Ana. It follows both their love and work life after their marriage.

Excerpt:

Mommy! Mommy! Mommy is asleep on the floor. She has been asleep for a long time. I brush her hair because she like that. She doesn’t wake up. I shake her. Mommy! My stomach hurts. It’s is hungry. He isn’t here. I am thirsty. In the kitchen, I pull a chair to the sink and I have a drink. The water splashes over my blue sweater. Mommy is still asleep. Mommy wake up! She lies still. She is cold. I fetch my blankie, and I cover Mommy, and I lie down on the sticky green rug beside her. Mommy is still asleep. I have two you cars. They race by the floor where Mommy is sleeping. I think Mommy is sick. I search for something to eat. In the freezer, I find peas. That are cold. I eat the slowly. That make my stomach hurt. I sleep beside Mommy.


There, you have them Tell me, what are you reading now?

Images are from my e-books gallery.

Sort:  

Awesome ... I have the ebooks. Think I may finally get to read them

P.s a review tag would be nice

Do read them. You won't regret it


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77