ADSactly Literature: Reading is a Way of Getting to Know Each Other...

in #literature5 years ago


Source

Reading is a Way of Getting to Know Each Other...

Hello, @adsactly readers

These days I read a thought-provoking phrase by Benjamin Franklin that says, "To lack one's own books is the height of misery. I remember that the first time I had a book in my hands that was mine was at the age of 6. I was going to school and they had bought me a reading book that my mother had lined with beautiful green paper. My new book smelled so good, unreleased, with no marks or bent ends. I had had books in my hands before, but they weren't mine: they belonged to my parents or my older sister. So I took it and put it in my blue backpack as if it were a great treasure, not knowing that in time, that book would open the doors for me to other treasures and other worlds.


Source

As Mario Vargas Llosa, Nobel Prize for Literature, put it: "Learning to read is the most important thing that has ever happened to me in my life. I learned to read quickly and in my first school year I read three books. My teacher, impressed by my dedication and enthusiasm, made me read daily, aloud, in front of the class. I read in front of the young audience and it was like dancing, traveling, dreaming. At the end of each reading I was exhausted, smiling, inspired, and very proud of my progress. At that time I read to learn, to acquire knowledge. Because reading is a learning process, we are not born as readers, we learn to be readers. We can acquire skills to begin to read, but good readers are made because they manage to become reading habits, because they enjoy reading: they find pleasure in what they read.


Source

I am clear that for some people it can be annoying to read a book, a waste of time; but I am also clear about the advantages that reading good texts can provide. For example, it makes us question our ideas and those of others, it teaches us to be critical, it enriches us culturally, it allows us to develop cognitive skills and, especially, it makes us freer: reading opens a door that never closes again. Saint Teresa of Jesus said: "Read and you will lead, do not read and you will be led". Reading allows us to leave behind the bonds of ignorance, evil that make us easy targets for the predators of totalitarian governments. This is how we read to grow, to change, to be better, to conquer, to never be the same again.


Source

As I grew up, I also grew as a reader. Then I could see another of the benefits of reading: pleasure. Reading gives pleasure. We read and with each reading we laugh, we cry, we submerge ourselves in distant and implausible worlds, real or fictitious. That is why I can say, looking back, that reading created in me an early fascination, something that came from within and was inexplicable. I could spend hours, and hours, locked in my room, reading any book that fell into my hands. From books on physics, astronomy, history: the beauty of knowledge and pleasure I found in the least apparent places. At that time I borrowed from an aunt, without her noticing, the romantic novels I kept in the closet. What I read stimulated my imagination. I felt that books were my home: it made me forget the cold, the heat, the hunger, the problems. Reading fed me.


Source

Then I began to build a modest library with authors from my country: Gallegos, Andrés Eloy Blanco, Teresa de la Parra, Arturo Uslar Pietri. I remember that the first book I bought at a fair, aware that I wanted to create my own library, was a collection of poems by Andrés Eloy Blanco. Many of the poems I learned by heart and still resonate in me. Later, I began to build a more extensive library with universal authors: Neruda, Borges, Whitman, Saint-John Perse, Pessoa, Vallejo, Rulfo, Emily Dickinson, Rilke, Storni, Sylvia Plath, Machado. Like any library, mine is made of testimony of passions and searches, of deficiencies and unknowns. It is full of books that were given to me, bought, and even more than one that I borrowed and never returned. My library is alive, breathing and invasive, according to my family. It's the open path of a journey that's not over yet.


Source

When I was a little girl, I remember my grandmother liked me to read the newspaper aloud. She sent me to read opinion and event articles every afternoon. That evening exercise served as practice to perfect my reading and to find out everything that was happening in my country and the world. Once, as I walked around the block, I saw an old woman, holding a book in her hand, reading to her grandson who was sitting at her feet. That touching image made me jealous and I ran home like crazy and told my grandmother that I would like her to read to me. My grandmother was illiterate so she said no to me. I didn't take no for an answer, so I started teaching my grandmother how to read and write.


Source

At the end of her days, my grandmother knew how to write her name and could read a few words, but she always asked me to read aloud to her. That experience, perhaps, was what motivated me to be a literature teacher. Hence I believe in the need to promote reading and libraries. You have to transmit the love for books, the passion for reading and that children grow up reading. That must be our concern and our commitment.

In short, I have always thought that when we read, with each reading there is a search for oneself and I can say with certainty that with some readings I have found myself and I have even managed to invent myself.


I hope you enjoyed the reading. I remind you that you can vote for @adsactly as a witness and join our server in discord. Until the next smile. ;)

BIBLIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCE

https://laslecturasdemrdavidmore.blogspot.com/2013/04/cincuenta-frases-celebres-sobre-la.html
https://leer.es/-/fomentar-la-lectura-por-placer

Written by: @nancybriti



Click the coin below to join our Discord Server

Adsactly Logo Newest 300dpi.png


We would greatly appreciate your witness vote

To vote for @adsactly-witness please click the link above, then find "adsactly-witness" and click the upvote arrow or scroll to the bottom and type "adsactly-witness" in the box

Thank You


Sort:  

Your article, @nancybriti, returns to a truly exciting subject. Reading written texts (because, as you say, you can "read" the world and other realities) is an irreplaceable activity. Some researches say that nowadays people read more through contact with the Internet; I am not so optimistic. As there has been a decline in access to books and in the practice of reading in our schools - an undeniable reality -true reading - interpretative and voluntary, not superficial and obligatory- has been weakened. Today, we have more repeaters and copiers than autonomous readers. This is clearly shown in the current state of many people's writing. Because that is another of the great influences of reading: to write well.
Thank you for your pleasant post. Greetings.

I agree with you and with @hlezama, seeing that this generation, although they may be reading a lot of things and absorbing a lot of information, they are not interpreting or questioning it, they are simply repeaters, sponges, of what they read. Ideally, they should be more critical and even more cautious. It is an arduous task for family, school and society. Thank you for commenting, @josemalavem

Good post keep posting my more

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post 👏

Posted using Partiko Android

It is good to be reminded of the power of reading, especially if we read critically. It's hard to do it these days. We never know wheather what we are reading is even "real".
Kids today may be reading more than we ever read at their age, and yet they know less and are more isolated. The fragments that they browse over the internet and the social media provide pointless entertainment. They rarely assimilate anything.
In our case, we can't even afford books these days, so good bye to good literature.
As for the idea behond this quote

Read and you will lead, do not read and you will be led

I don't think reading per se can do the job. We saw many "readers" at the university level be dragged by the ideological crap of the chavista mediocracy

These days I entered a bookstore and although I was interested in some books, I could not buy anything because they were very expensive. I felt so miserable! It was like going into a jewelry store and craving a ring: incomprehensible to me. As for the importance of reading, with each book they don't give away a brain, the one that doesn't have one, not even if they add water and fertilizer, they will grow one. Greetings, @hlezama

Hahaha. True

I believe reading will open up broader kit insights. By saying we know more things. We can even become very intimate with the world when we know it. Amazingly, more reading will cause us more thirst. Always want to read more. We never feel satisfied with what we read.
I still remember how expensive books are, so I thought I would bear to buy them because I didn't have money. the new book only exists in bookstores. but with strong determination I came to the bookstore and read it to the end. I read quietly for almost two hours until finally a security officer came and said, "This is not a library." I know what that means, then I choose to buy at a very cheap price and return to continue the expensive book to finish.
Thank you @nancybriti
Thank you @adsactly
Thank you Steemit
Warm regard from Indonesia

It's a good strategy: go to the bookstore and read each book. In Venezuela everything is expensive now, it wasn't like that before. I miss the days when I could buy new books and stay at home until it was finished. It was a pleasure and a vice, as you say. Thank you for your comment, @rokhani

Hi, @adsactly!

You just got a 0.33% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Yes! Reading! It has helped me through many storms. Just open a book, get on a water worthy ship, and sail away. That is so sweet you read to your grandmother, I love having that image for myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45