You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Literature - Edgar Allan Poe: Root of Literary Modernity (Part II)

in #literature5 years ago (edited)

I couldn't find a more pleasant post, @josemalavem!
I'm sorry I missed the first part (but I'll look for it soon).
One of the poems that I like the most in universal literature is "The raven", I love the Spanish translation made by Pérez Bonalde.
During your post you stroll through some of the author's fundamental references, all magnificent and favorite works in my heart, however I will stop at that curious essay (essay-method) that is Philosophy of Composition.
For years I read it with my students trying to take advantage of it all the valuable things it has to teach, but as I read it more it seemed to me that the author was exaggerating in the techniques he said he applied and the whole method began to seem to me a hyperbole, a game, a text full of winks that Poe, with a hidden smile behind the text, had left for naive readers, like me! :-)
Thanks, @josemalavem and @adsactly.

Sort:  

The Spanish translation of "El cuervo" by Pérez Bonalde is very praised, and, as far as I can see, it is very good. However, I read one by the Mexican modernist poet Enrique González Martínez that I liked better in itself, without comparing it to the original.
What you say about the exaggeration or not complete compatibility between what Poe said in Philosophy of Composition and the poem, but also part of the method, is true. It has even been recognized by relevant critics.
Thank you for your kind reading and comment, @adncabrera. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66