I just received the Litecoin 5th Anniversary Ledger

in #litecoin8 years ago

Today I received the Litecoin 5th Anniversary Ledger. As some people may know from some of my older posts, I'm originally from the Litecoin community, and I still run many LTC related services, so of course I was going to buy this :)

For those who aren't aware, Litecoin is a digital currency similar to STEEM, one of the oldest crypto's still standing to this day. The Ledger Nano S is a hardware wallet, custom engraved and sold by the Litecoin Association to celebrate LTC's 5th anniversary a few months ago, and to help raise money for the developers.

The device can currently handle: Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum, and can also act as a FIDO U2F device (like a YubiKey). It's possible STEEM may be ported to it, if we get some developer interest.


The device came in Apple-esque box, with a keychain thing, and a lanyard underneath the foam covering the Ledger.

One confusing thing: Ledger doesn't list Litecoin anywhere on their site. You have to install the Bitcoin wallet, and the app will detect it when you activate Litecoin mode on your Ledger.

The ledger app is nice to use, it's a simple Chrome App so it works cross platform just the same. Part of the magic of the Ledger is that it requires you to push a button to confirm the transaction, and even gives you all the details so you can be 100% sure.

Here's a short GIF to show you:

Overall I like the device, I've moved a fair share of my BTC and LTC to it, and would love to see someone port STEEM to it!


Do you like what I'm doing for STEEM/Steemit?

Vote for me to be a witness - every vote counts.

Don't forget to follow me for more like this.


Sort:  

looks super nice. can you still buy it?

Soon, orders are temporarily disabled due to high price fluctuations. When it's back you can get it at https://litecoinassociation.org/store.html

Alternatively if you don't care about helping out the LTC dev team, you can buy it directly from Ledger: https://www.ledgerwallet.com/products/12-ledger-nano-s

i always care ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67