LiteCoinPool.org accuses users of "Abuse."

in #litecoin7 years ago (edited)

On March 3rd, 2018, Litecoinpool.org (LCP) made abrupt, arbitrary, and secret changes to their payout policy. I had been mining with them with my L3+ since getting it a month ago. I had been happy with their potential "102%" profitability, which had put them above Nicehash and Prohashing.

As a new miner, I set my payout low and frequent, 0.01 LTC @ 4 hours, so I could test their pool, reliability of payment, and stability of the pool. This was going well for me and read great reviews from other miners of their satisfaction with LCP.

However, LCP, without notice, transparency, or input from the very community which supports and uses their site, changed the payout rules from 4 hours to 6 hours and would not define what the new minimum payout would be. LCP was asked about these arbitrary changes, and for clarification on the new figures, in a Bitcointalk forum.

LCP.png

LCP's answers, if you can call it that, seem to be as equally vague as their site changes.

Another user chimed in on the changes, challenging their maturity and professionalism, and stating they were leaving the pool.

giggles.png

While I understand Pools need to change the way they do things, improve, and renew, the troubling thing here is their awful public relations on these changes. The pool administrator(s) openly said that they were making the changes "to prevent abuse." Personally, I don't see how using the very settings allowed by the pool is abusive. If they didn't want to have a 0.01 LTC payout, then they should have never offered it. So, I have to agree with the LCP users/miners on this on. As they say in the Navy, "You really screwed the pooch" on this LiteCoinPool.org.

At the time of this post, LCP had 12,170 active users. I will be watching to see if these changes cause an exodus or if the miners just roll with it. Until then, I urge LCP users to reconsider their options for Scrypt mining.

Best of luck!

Sort:  

These things are bound to happen in the "Wild West" that is the crypto-currency space. Caveat emptor!

Indeed. My gut reaction to the changes was 'greed.' Something is not right here and LCP has now tarnished their once bright reputation.
Thanks for the upvote. Please check back for my updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51