Charlie Lee's message to the Community

in #litecoin7 years ago (edited)

charlie.jpg

Let me respond to all the criticism. Let me start off by saying that this post will likely piss off many of you. People bought LTC and are part of this community for various reasons. Everything I do or say will upset some part of this community. And I don't really care to be honest.
If you have been following Litecoin for more than 3 years, you will know that Litecoin is boring. I would be lying if I said it wasn't. Litecoin, for some unknown reason, is always very stable with USD. I have no idea why, but it is this way. Whenever Bitcoin pumps, LTC/BTC crashes, and that makes it stable with respect to USD. Whenever Bitcoin crashes, LTC/BTC goes up a bit. Some for 99% of the time Litecoin is really boring. It stayed around $4 for like 3 years! And it pumped to $50 and now seems to stabilizing around $45. Bitcoin can go to $5000 tomorrow and I wouldn't be a bit surprised to see Litecoin stay at $45. I believe in the future, LTC will go up in value. Maybe the next time, it will go to $400 in a few months. No one knows if or when that will happen. So the key is to be patient and to Hodl. Long time Litecoin supporters know this, and those are not the people that are crying foul today.
If you expect me to pump LTC to make you rich, I am not going to do that. I do not work for you. You are not investing in a corporation where I am the CEO and I work to make investors money. This is not how decentralized currencies work. If you don't appreciate that and don't like it, then please sell your LTC. Your investment into LTC does not go to me or the Litecoin developers. Litecoin will succeed if people invest their energies into Litecoin. Just buying LTC does nothing. So if you don't like the direction of where Litecoin marketing is going, do the work and help market it the way you want. Don't expect me to be doing that!
My vision for Litecoin is always silver to Bitcoin's gold. That's not going to change. I will be touting that whenever I can. I see Litecoin working side by side with Bitcoin to address the need for decentralized currency. I hate to break it to you, but Litecoin will never overtake Bitcoin. Bitcoin will always be the king. No matter how much I want that to change, it's not going to happen. And I am fine with that and will work towards a future where both BTC and LTC are used my everyone. If you believe that's wrong, that's fine. Go tweet about it as much as you want and go on CNBC to say that. I'm not going to do that because I don't believe it to be the case.
I've said this before and I will say it again. Ask not what Litecoin can do for you. Ask what you can do for Litecoin. Go forth and make it happen. This is a decentralized currency. You don't get to sit back and enjoy the profits from other people's hard work.
Sorry if I upset you, but I won't change. :(

Sort:  

Honestly you just showed us a face of reality and no one should really be upset with it , that's how crypto and markets itself work , you have gains and you have loss . They will get over it @chitty

Hi @chitty, I'm a designer and have just joined Steemit. My first story is a collection of 10 ideas on how to improve the design of the story cards in the feed. Please tell me what you think! I would love to help the platform grow.

i luv coblee

This actually makes me want to buy and hold Litecoin more.

Since I've missing the boat on Bitcoin, and won't be able to buy in in any real way, my plan has been to purchase Litecoin BECAUSE it's stable, and make my money off the up and downs of the other altcoin, purchasing them with Litecoin, then sending the profits I make back into Litecoin.

I love this dude.

I want to invest in LTC now. lol!

why wouldn't anyone like what he just said? boring = stable = good.
he used a jfk quote in crypto. he's good... jfk was an inside job btw.

Upvoted & RESTEEMED!

I want to buy more LTC :) I believe LTC is one of the more undervalued currencies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63955.44
ETH 2745.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65