Create a TO-DO LIST and GET. THINGS. DONE.

in #list7 years ago

Write things down. Yes, we have all heard it. Write things down. Yes, we get it. Calm down. I got it all in my head. I'm good!

No. You are NOT good. You can barely remember what you had for breakfast yesterday!!! WRITE. IT. DOWN.

To-do lists. I have a love/hate relationship with them. I love to use them but I hate that they just keep getting longer and longer even after I cross out each action!!! Jesus, will it ever stop?!?!? Well, no, it will never stop and that's kind of the point. Your work is never done. But, each step to your goal is being accomplished one-by-one and that's a GOOD thing. Heck, it's a GREAT thing.

What the heck IS a to-do list, you might ask? I mean it's pretty self explanatory but hey, maybe you're the NEW guy. A to-do list is a list of things you want accomplished for that day, that week, month, or year. Personally, my list is a daily list.

images_large.png
(my to-do list is a tad longer but you get the point)

What's the purpose, you might continue? Simple: to keep you on track. To help keep you moving towards getting things done effectively and efficiently. I know my day comes with so many distractions and meetings and ideas and clients and faxes and emails and calls and all sorts of things that can derail me from my mission that day but my list keeps me FOCUSED. And although my day may get derailed 16 times, my list gets me back on track in no time.

images_a57f9a35-38c7-4027-8476-09e675821eff_large.jpg
(back on track like a speeding bullet train)

So how do I start a to-do list? Easy. Write out a list of things you need to do that particular day, week, month, or year. And then get them done. One acton at a time. Once completed, cross it out. Now THAT's a good feeling. And it's SO good that it will motivate you to cross out all the rest of the actions needed to complete your day.

I start thinking of my list the day before. I will then text message myself that night so I don't forget. As I said earlier, my memory is pretty bad so this way, texting myself, I can get a better handle on what I need done. Then when I hit the office, I start writing down my list on a big yellow notepad. Then the FUN begins. It is now hunting season and I'm HUNGARY!!!

I used to-do lists years ago but my days were so similar that I hadn't utilized them in quite some time. I recently started again and my production and efficiency has more than doubled. I'm a freakin' machine over here ; )

images_ae55ecb7-6faf-440b-a778-a2a42d38e056_large.jpg
(you're one mean machine, brother)

So if you're looking to get better daily, looking to be successful, then I suggest a simple to-do list to add to your daily ritual. I know it will help you. So stop reading and start crossing $h*t out, new guy!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51