Hits my head on the wall - where are the games for Linux?

in #linux8 years ago

In 10 years almost nothing changed. Always less games for Linux, and to play the old ones I have, with the "all hail to Wine".

Where are y'all Linux purists? Come here and put your nasty hateful comments for me waiting to find some good game I can play.

I don't have 50 bucks to try a game where I don't even know If I will like it. So what about it?

All the games I bought when I was on windows, damn, not even one works with this now.

I wish I could find a way to open up Dirty Bomb and play it, since it's a free steam game, but hell No, it's not available for your platform.

No, I refuse to install again Windows to just play games. I REFUSE, do you understand me?

No, I won't go an play dota. I don't friggin like it ok?

Makes me want to install a virtual machine to play '98 games again... jeez... just give me a small chance, an opportunity, to stay on Linux, please.
I don't have money to buy a console either, so I'm literally out for games. :(

Any help is appreciated.

My friend hinted me to buy this, but I can't afford that, so yeah, I'm literally stuck to play...reversi on my linux machine...forever. 

The only games I find are dating sims... which are like... 10 yrs back when I was on newgrounds and were playing with flash games... same stuff with unity now. 

I don't know, do I have to stick with my android phone to play some decent game?
I didn't even found a way to install a fake android on my machine.

And no, I can't afford either a minecraft premium account, and on my demo I have left 2 hours. So, I will just waste those 2 hours, I refuse to go on cracked servers and look like a noob.

Sort:  
  1. It costs money and/or time to develop a game. Very few people are going to spend either or both without an expected return on investment.

  2. Most game developers do not run nor care to run Linux on their machine or in a virtual machine, so they don't bother with it. If you want them to consider Linux, you have to get them to consider actually installing and using the operating system in the first place.

  3. It takes an additional investment to code Linux-specific code in the case that the build target is for Linux. For most game developers, it isn't worth the investment in coding - and supporting - that platform.

Agree with you but, 10 yrs are still 10 yrs, how come in 10 yrs they made just a small progress?

Linux isn't worth it.

You are basically asking why developers don't invest a ton of time and money for 2% of the operating system market. And of that 2%, a lot of that isn't home users who would want to play games, those are mostly servers. Then out of the small percentage (maybe 0.5% at best?) that is left they are like you, who can't or won't pay what people do on other operating systems.

So, in short, its clear why the games are not there. It makes no sense for a game developer to support Linux. At all.

https://www.netmarketshare.com/operating-system-market-share.aspx?qprid=10&qpcustomd=0&qpcustomb=

Based on what you say, then Mac shouldn't have so many games on steam. A friend of mine has over 1000 titles, and that's in a merely 5 % that shouldn't worth it either.

The difference with MacOS is that Mac once had a decent market share. Linux never had, and continues to not have it.

There are third party companies that only support MacOS, and work on porting games over to MacOS. Most game developers do not do it themselves because its not worth it for them. Ubisoft, EA and others do not usually build their own MacOS builds of games, they let someone else do it because its their business.

And those businesses as you might guess are very small businesses with very small revenues.

Additionally, while there are free to play games on Steam, your friend paid for a lot of those "over 1000" titles. That's different. MacOS users have money to pay. Linux users, in general, either claim they don't have the money to pay or don't believe in paying for software.

MacOS was Linux's best chance at getting game developers to consider coding for and supporting Linux, since MacOS is now based off of it. Clearly, it hasn't worked and if Apple can't make it happen, its not going to happen.

they should understand that even linux people have money to spend on. Just saying.

"I don't have 50 bucks to try a game where I don't even know If I will like it. So what about it?" - wisehammer

Oh c'mon, That's more general, let's say is a new title, that is different, and the trailer is not an honest trailer, I would buy it if i had the money, when I was on windows i actually spent 100+ dollars to buy games I liked. So what?

If you go to a restaurant and purchase a meal that you haven't tried before, and you don't like it, you don't get your money back. Yet, you still go out and try new dishes.

Same thing. Its up to the person to do their due diligence before they spend their hard earned cash for anything, whether its food, a game or something else.

Try something browser-based.

that will surely focus my pc on chromium browser, since flash and unity support is specialized.

I avoid anything unity based to be honest. I prefer html5, at most flash games.

Is there a way to know if an HTML5 / WebGL game was built with Unity or not if the game doesn't display the Unity splash screen?

Yes. Don't install unity and it won't play - you'll get a message that you need to add unity. It's the easiest way to detect it :D

That won't work if the developers build their Unity game for HTML5 / WebGL though; that only works if the developers build their Unity game for the Unity web player.

With Unity 5.4, developers can't build for the web player anymore now that they have scrapped the web player for HTML 5 / WebGL instead, so if a developer builds their Unity game for the HTML5 / WebGL platform there is no need for the Unity web player to run the game - its a pure HTML5 / WebGL game at that point - but still a Unity game as Unity was still the development tool used to make it.

To my knowledge, aside from including the Unity splash screen, there is no way to know that an HTML5 / WebGL game wasn't built with Unity.

Stick with WebGL games, which is native to all modern browsers and doesn't require the use of the now deprecated NPAPI.

Genymotion is a good Android emulator. It sucks about Linux, but Steam is getting better at porting games. You mentioned Steam, don't like any of the games available so far? I hope their trend continues.

I'm not talking of the games that costs more than 10 bucks, I can't afford them, that's why I stick to free, and for free, i find only the real popular boring ones as I mentioned Dota. For me 30 mins for a single play that gives me nothing is useless. I want some action, shoot at people, aliens, bottles... anything. Genymotion isn't free either. or I'm wrong?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47