You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basics of linux operating system 101

in #linux7 years ago

Actually I find it great for personal use, not only for my own use but also for a friend who is way too thick to ever run Windows without daily hand holding.

Nor have I ever had any problem with drivers, the kernel, like OsX automatically takes care of the issue. There is one caveat about that though, you do need to check for compatibility before buying peripherals. I will simplify that issue, Brother and HP printers are usually fine and Cannon scanners too.

Sort:  

@rlp1938, I think @h0bby1 makes a point about multimedia. It's true that Linux and OsX take care of drivers, but open source drivers which aren't always good for 3d rendering, or games and stuff like that. When you have graphic cards from AMD or nVidia, it's not always easy to install their drivers and they don't always work. I'm glad that there are people that use Linux for personal use :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46